App Icon

Runcasts

Opis

Runcasts is a podcast player designed to make syncing podcasts to your Garmin watch as simple and quick as possible, no iTunes or computer necessary.</p><p></p><p>Runcasts works by constantly monitoring your podcasts for new episodes and once new episodes appear, our servers proactively compress and store them until your next sync.</p><p></p><p></p><p>=== How It Works ===</p><p></p><p>• Sign up at runcasts.com</p>

Novosti

NOTE: This app is in the process of being retired. You're welcome to install and use it but please understand it will eventually be removed from the app store. Support for the app will also be winding down, so please be patient in making support requests. Thanks everyone!</p><p></p><p>=== 4.4 ===</p><p>• Fixed a bug where cover art wouldn't be updated when an episode changed</p><p>• Workaround Bluetooth detection bug present in latest Vivoactive 3 Music firmware (4.90)</p>

Dodatne informacije

Dovoljenja

Program potrebuje dostop do:

  • Pošiljanje/prejemanje informacij v internet/iz interneta
  • Captain Marvel Captain Marvel
  • D2™ Delta D2™ Delta
  • D2™ Delta PX D2™ Delta PX
  • D2™ Delta S D2™ Delta S
  • First Avenger First Avenger
  • Forerunner® 245 Music Forerunner® 245 Music
  • Forerunner® 645 Music Forerunner® 645 Music
  • Forerunner® 945 Forerunner® 945
  • fēnix® 5 Plus fēnix® 5 Plus
  • fēnix® 5S Plus fēnix® 5S Plus
  • fēnix® 5X Plus fēnix® 5X Plus
  • fēnix® 6 Pro fēnix® 6 Pro, fēnix® 6 Sapphire
  • fēnix® 6S Pro fēnix® 6S Pro, fēnix® 6S Sapphire
  • fēnix® 6X Pro fēnix® 6X Pro, fēnix® 6X Sapphire, fēnix® 6X Pro Solar
  • MARQ™ Adventurer MARQ™ Adventurer
  • MARQ™ Athlete MARQ™ Athlete
  • MARQ™ Aviator MARQ™ Aviator
  • MARQ™ Captain MARQ™ Captain
  • MARQ™ Driver MARQ™ Driver
  • MARQ™ Expedition MARQ™ Expedition
  • Venu Venu
  • vívoactive® 3 Music vívoactive® 3 Music
  • vívoactive® 4 vívoactive® 4, GarminActive
  • vívoactive® 4S vívoactive® 4S, GarminActive S
Povprečna ocena: (62 ocen)

Amy Bartell
16. avgust 2019 | Različica 4.1.0

Used to work, with some glitches, but now the website is no longer accessible when I try to access it via the Garmin connect app.

Odgovor razvijalca
26. avgust 2019, rconradharris

Hi Amy, that sounds like new bug, would love to get more info so we can fix it. If you contact us at [email protected] we can collect more info and get it fixed ASAP. -Rick

Neil catley
14. avgust 2019 | Različica 4.1.0

Works well, but very overpriced at $60/year! I'd be tempted to pay a one off charge, but the license/subscription model adds up too quickly.

Scott Boyle
12. avgust 2019 | Različica 4.1.0

Be warned: Installing this wiped the rest of my music off my FR645. I don’t know how, or when exactly. I went for a run immediately after installing it and it worked well for that one run. But later that day I opened the music app, tried to change providers, and found that there were no other providers. Only Runcasts. And I mean ONLY runcasts. No Spotify, but also no “my music” and even the “Control Phone” and “Add Provider” options was gone! The entire music functionality had basically become only the runcast app, because that was the only option I had to select from the Providers screen. I had to uninstall runcasts and Spotify to get my Garmin default options back. I added Spotify back on and now I’m sitting here re-syncing hundreds of songs from Spotify. -_- a huge waste of time. Spotify has podcasts. This app is undoubtedly better suited for them, but I am hesitant to resinstall it....

Odgovor razvijalca
12. avgust 2019, rconradharris

Thanks for the details, we'll be contacting Garmin to figure out what's going on here and get a fix out ASAP. -Rick

Darren McEntee
09. avgust 2019 | Različica 4.1.0

Works flawlessly. First time setup was quick. Sync'd perfectly. I'm now out running with all my podcasts. Great app! ... if (very) limited on the free option.

Beeng
03. avgust 2019 | Različica 4.1.0

Manual syncing is extremely unreliable. There is no way to remove a podcast from the queue on the website.

Odgovor razvijalca
12. avgust 2019, rconradharris

Hi Beeng, the reliability of the syncing is usually dictated by the quality of the Wi-Fi signal at the location you're syncing from. The app internally performs 'retries' to try to fetch content in the face of poor signal quality, but that only helps so much. I'd recommend trying from a different location to see if that helps. For 2) you can remove a podcast by clicking 'Unsubscribe' on the podcast page for a whole podcast, or if an individual episode 'Played'. If you still run into issues, please contact [email protected] and I'd be happy to help! -Rick

David
20. julij 2019 | Različica 4.1.0

It's a pretty seamless app: a nice web interface to manage podcast subscriptions and a reliable watch app to play them locally. Download performance is really good too because their servers intermediate between the watch and the source. I'm really happy with it. Would like to have a few playback features like fast-forward and rewind. Still, I'm overall very happy with the features, e.g. variable playback speed and private podcast feeds.

pojo32
18. junij 2019 | Različica 4.0.2

Limited to one podcast unless you pay for premium account.

Chyle McMahon
11. junij 2019 | Različica 4.0.2

Once I was able to get it to sync after a few restarts it works very well. Sound is clean and controls via the watch are very functional, even during a workout.

David
10. junij 2019 | Različica 4.0.2

It's been really functional so far. The web interface is reliable and I appreciate being able to queue up podcasts from anywhere. The app itself runs well: stable and most of the features I'd want.

Odgovor razvijalca
20. junij 2019, rconradharris

Thanks David, love to hear it's working for you!

brewer_midwest
07. maj 2019 | Različica 3.1.0

It works, and the web interface is nice, but the free tier is terrible, and $5 is too much for all but the most hardcore podcast consumer. TO THE APP DEVELOPER: Please implement a "mid-tier" that is $1-3 month that would allow a very limited amount of auto syncing, perhaps 3 subscriptions and 3 episodes per podcast. ALSO: The process to manually sync is confusing and is a lot of button presses. And why is it Manage | Music Providers | Runcasts | Preview . You can't switch music providers here, so why doesn't Manage go DIRECTLY to Preview?

Brad Lane
06. maj 2019 | Različica 3.1.0

Auto sync doesn't always work but otherwise great app

Neil Wilkinson
22. marec 2019 | Različica 3.1.0

They should really give a free trial for this so you can evaluate it. The free version is so crippled and clunky it just makes the product look bad. I decided to sign up to spotify instead, moving over from google play music.

Michael Cox
02. marec 2019 | Različica 3.1.0

The free plan is quite crippled (only 1 podcast and only a few episodes) an the pricing for this is quite bad given the features (only 25 podcasts, but unlimited episodes). Guess I'll stick to uploading music/podcasts via Garmin Express, since that's easier and faster as well. Needs a lot more value to be worth the price IMHO.

Cynthia
14. februar 2019 | Različica 3.0.0

Vivoactive 3 music just updated to 3.6 and it seems to have broken the manual sync on this app. First you have to restart the phone in order to connect to Runcast to find episodes in queue. When you back out of preview in order to get to sync option, you just end up at the watch face...you never get the option to sync. When you go back to the preview page, the queue is empty again. Restart phone, wash, rinse, repeat... As it stands now, I can't load any episodes onto the watch.

Odgovor razvijalca
18. februar 2019, rconradharris

Hi Cynthia, The 3.6 update appears to work for us, although the interface has changed quite a bit. One thing you could try is selecting 'Reset' in Runcasts and re-pairing the app to the server. If something is out-of-sync, then that can clear it up. If this doesn't work, please reach out to [email protected] and we'll be happy to get you back up and running.

Andrew
09. februar 2019 | Različica 3.0.0

My watch keeps prompting me to "use phone to sign in to runcasts". The connect IQ app does not prompt me to login to my account. I have a fenix 5s plus.

Odgovor razvijalca
18. februar 2019, rconradharris

Hi Andrew, This can occur sometimes if the Garmin Connect phone app or the watch becomes 'wedged' (e.g. stuck). Usually rebooting the phone and watch in tandem will fix the issue. If that doesn't work, please reach out to [email protected] and we'll make sure you get up and running. Thanks!

Sascha
20. januar 2019 | Različica 3.0.0

Does everything I expect from a podcast app on a smart watch well. Pricing is quite high, but it is is a niche product for a niche eco system, so I guess it is hard to make any profit from such an app.

Tim
18. januar 2019 | Različica 3.0.0

I had alot of problems with this app and was glad to get it off my device. Every time I charged my watch it synced and then froze. On the free version I could only download one podcast episode.

Odgovor razvijalca
18. januar 2019, rconradharris

Hi Tim, Thanks for the feedback. The 'Auto Sync' feature will sync your Queue every time you charge so that you always have the latest episodes on your watch. It shouldn't freeze, but it might take a while to download if your Queue is large. You can always disable this feature in the Settings menu, if for example, you would like to manually pick-and-choose which episodes you want each time ('Manual Sync'). The free version should allow up to 3 episodes at a time, we'll look into that to make sure there aren't any issues there. Thanks!

Dustin Pringle
07. januar 2019 | Različica 3.0.0

Most of the apps provided on Garmin Connect are garbage. This app seems have been well thought out and professionally done - it truly has potential. While I still would like to see the syncing simplified and streamlined (maybe a free pro trial would help us get a feel for that vs only offering the free version up front with limited features?), I wanted to compliment the developers on the work they’ve done to date. They also seem committed to improving the app as well. I do agree with other reviews that state the $5/mo price point for pro version is tough to swallow.

Vinod
01. januar 2019 | Različica 2.1.0

A real struggle to set up the app on my watch and to get the first podcast sync'd. This app has great potential. Needs a business perspective. Developers are capable but seem to be wasting energy on the wrong things. Fix the core first - make it easy to setup and get going. You can make more money by reducing price if it is easy to use, then more people will use it. Overall a good fit for podcast users and endurance sports enthusiasts. But without focus on the basics, others will come out with better product soon.

Erik
25. december 2018 | Različica 2.1.0

Free is so limited it's useless

Beeng
02. december 2018 | Različica 2.1.0

Free version can only subscribe to one Podcast. Site is always very slow.

Odgovor razvijalca
04. december 2018, rconradharris

Hi Beeng, Site performance is definitely something we'd like to improve. So far it's taken a backseat to watch app features like the fast-forward/rewind scrubber and bug fixes. The goal of Runcasts is to have users setup their podcasts subscriptions up-front, and then to use the site rarely after that to update their subscriptions. So hopefully, in day-to-day use, the impact of a slow site shouldn't be huge, since mostly you should be interacting with the watch app.

kaz911
23. november 2018 | Različica 2.0.0

Demo kind of works from time to time - but often times out (F5x+) Premium account is way way WAY overpriced @ $5 /month. For only $5 extra you get Spotify Premium that has podcast support (although limited and with potential inserted advertising) But it must be some very expensive hosting since the price is so high.....

Odgovor razvijalca
04. december 2018, rconradharris

Hi Kaz911, you're absolutely right Spotify is a fantastic app, we use and love it here as well! Runcasts is a bit different since it's laser-focused on the podcasting use case. We use Runcasts ourselves everyday and remain focused on making it the best possible podcasting experience for wearables. You're also right, our hosting costs are on the high-side; we use premium hosting services so that we can focus on design and development and (mostly) not worry about operations (e.g. keeping the servers up).

Julian P
12. november 2018 | Različica 1.4.0

While not perfect yet, this is pretty close to exactly what I need to get my podcasts onto my Fenix. I was worried I would need to sign up for Spotify or Deezer to get access to Podcasts wirelessly, but this does the trick!

Sam Cadby
27. oktober 2018 | Različica 1.2.0

By far the best way to manage podcasts onto my Fenix 5+. An excellent bit of design and dev work here. Much thought appears to have been given to the wearable use case and specifics of the Garmin platform. Worth your time to try it out!

melgonius
27. september 2018 | Različica 1.1.0

I appreciate that this app exists. It definitely shows potential. Setting it up and syncing the watch with the account worked without major problems. But I do think that the 5$ a month subscription fee is way too big for what it gets you. For now, I will use it in 'free' mode and basically stick to a single podcast. I hope that once the user base becomes larger, the financial model will be switched to something more tempting for my pockets.

Statistika še ni na voljo.