App Icon

Steps to FIT

Description

I share my work with you for free, and it will stay free. If you want donate for my work, you can contribute a small amount. Small amount for you, great help for me. :)</p><p>Revolut: @gergelv2y0</p><p>PayPal: paypal.me/gergelyracz</p><p></p><p>This datafield shows the number of steps taken during an activity. It only records steps when the timer is running. At the end of the session the step data are written into the FIT file for the entire session (total number of steps) and also for the individual laps (number of steps per each lap) so that you can check it in the activity summary on the Garmin Connect website or in the Garmin Connect application. </p>

What’s New

v1.2.11 Support new devices. (D2 Air X10, D2 Mach 1, Descent G1, Epix 2, Fenix 7 series, Instinct 2 series, Venu 2 Plus)</p><p>v1.2.9 Support new devices. (Descent Mk2 S, Enduro, Forerunner 55, Forerunner 945 LTE, Venu 2, Venu 2S)</p><p>v1.2.8 Support new devices. (Venu SQ, Forerunner 745, Descent Mk2, MARQ Golfer, D2 Air, Venu Mercedes-Benz Collection)</p><p>v1.2.7 Support new devices. (Legacy Hero Series, Approach S62, MARQ Adventurer, MARQ Commander)</p>

Additional Information

Permissions

This app requires access to:

  • Record additional information into activity files
  • Approach® S60 Approach® S60
  • Approach® S62 Approach® S62
  • Captain Marvel Captain Marvel
  • D2™ Air D2™ Air
  • D2™ Air X10 D2™ Air X10
  • D2™ Bravo D2™ Bravo
  • D2™ Bravo Titanium D2™ Bravo Titanium
  • D2™ Charlie D2™ Charlie
  • D2™ Delta D2™ Delta
  • D2™ Delta PX D2™ Delta PX
  • D2™ Delta S D2™ Delta S
  • D2™ Mach 1 D2™ Mach 1
  • Darth Vader™ Darth Vader™
  • Descent™ G1 Descent™ G1, Descent™ G1 Solar
  • Descent™ Mk1 Descent™ Mk1
  • Descent™ MK2 Descent™ MK2, Descent™MK2i
  • Descent™ Mk2S Descent™ Mk2S
  • Enduro™ Enduro™
  • epix™ (Gen 2) epix™ (Gen 2), quatix® 7 – Sapphire Edition
  • First Avenger First Avenger
  • ForeAthlete® 230J ForeAthlete® 230J
  • ForeAthlete® 235J ForeAthlete® 235J
  • ForeAthlete® 630J ForeAthlete® 630J
  • ForeAthlete® 735XTJ ForeAthlete® 735XTJ
  • ForeAthlete® 920XTJ ForeAthlete® 920XTJ
  • Forerunner® 230 Forerunner® 230
  • Forerunner® 235 Forerunner® 235
  • Forerunner® 245 Forerunner® 245
  • Forerunner® 245 Music Forerunner® 245 Music
  • Forerunner® 55 Forerunner® 55
  • Forerunner® 630 Forerunner® 630
  • Forerunner® 645 Forerunner® 645
  • Forerunner® 645 Music Forerunner® 645 Music
  • Forerunner® 735XT Forerunner® 735XT
  • Forerunner® 745 Forerunner® 745
  • Forerunner® 920XT Forerunner® 920XT
  • Forerunner® 935 Forerunner® 935
  • Forerunner® 945 Forerunner® 945
  • Forerunner® 945 LTE Forerunner® 945 LTE
  • fēnix® 3 fēnix® 3, quatix® 3, tactix® Bravo
  • fēnix® 3 HR fēnix® 3 HR
  • fēnix® 5 fēnix® 5, quatix® 5
  • fēnix® 5 Plus fēnix® 5 Plus
  • fēnix® 5S fēnix® 5S
  • fēnix® 5S Plus fēnix® 5S Plus
  • fēnix® 5X fēnix® 5X, tactix® Charlie
  • fēnix® 5X Plus fēnix® 5X Plus
  • fēnix® 6 fēnix® 6
  • fēnix® 6 Dual Power fēnix® 6 Dual Power
  • fēnix® 6 Pro fēnix® 6 Pro, fēnix® 6 Sapphire
  • fēnix® 6 Pro Dual Power fēnix® 6 Pro Dual Power
  • fēnix® 6 Pro Solar fēnix® 6 Pro Solar
  • fēnix® 6 Solar fēnix® 6 Solar
  • fēnix® 6S fēnix® 6S
  • fēnix® 6S Dual Power fēnix® 6S Dual Power
  • fēnix® 6S Pro fēnix® 6S Pro, fēnix® 6S Sapphire
  • fēnix® 6S Pro Dual Power fēnix® 6S Pro Dual Power
  • fēnix® 6S Pro Solar fēnix® 6S Pro Solar
  • fēnix® 6S Solar fēnix® 6S Solar
  • fēnix® 6X Pro fēnix® 6X Pro, fēnix® 6X Sapphire, fēnix® 6X Pro Solar, tactix® Delta Sapphire, quatix® 6X Solar, tactix® Delta Solar, tactix® Delta Solar Ballistics
  • fēnix® 7 fēnix® 7, quatix® 7
  • fēnix® 7S fēnix® 7S
  • fēnix® 7X fēnix® 7X, quatix® 7X – Solar Edition
  • fēnix® Chronos fēnix® Chronos
  • Instinct® 2 Instinct® 2, Instinct® 2 - Camo Edition, Instinct® 2 Solar - Tactical Edition, Instinct® 2 Solar - Surf Edition, Instinct® 2 - dēzl™ Edition
  • Instinct® 2S Instinct® 2S, Instinct® 2S - Camo Edition, Instinct® 2S Solar - Tactical Edition, Instinct® 2S Solar - Surf Edition, Instinct® 2S - dēzl™ Edition
  • MARQ™ Adventurer MARQ™ Adventurer
  • MARQ™ Athlete MARQ™ Athlete
  • MARQ™ Aviator MARQ™ Aviator
  • MARQ™ Captain MARQ™ Captain, MARQ™ Captain: American Magic Edition
  • MARQ™ Commander MARQ™ Commander
  • MARQ™ Driver MARQ™ Driver
  • MARQ™ Expedition MARQ™ Expedition
  • MARQ™ Golfer MARQ™ Golfer
  • Mercedes-Benz Venu® Mercedes-Benz Venu®
  • Mercedes-Benz Venu® 2 Mercedes-Benz Venu® 2
  • Mercedes-Benz Venu® 2S Mercedes-Benz Venu® 2S
  • quatix® 6 quatix® 6
  • quatix® 6X quatix® 6X, quatix® 6X Solar, quatix® 6X Dual Power
  • Rey™ Rey™
  • tactix® 7 tactix® 7, tactix® 7 – Pro Ballistics Edition, tactix® 7 – Pro Edition
  • Venu® Venu®
  • Venu® 2 Venu® 2
  • Venu® 2 Plus Venu® 2 Plus
  • Venu® 2S Venu® 2S
  • Venu® Sq. Venu® Sq.
  • Venu® Sq. Music Venu® Sq. Music
  • vívoactive® vívoactive®
  • vívoactive® 3 vívoactive® 3
  • vívoactive® 3 Mercedes-Benz® Collection vívoactive® 3 Mercedes-Benz® Collection
  • vívoactive® 3 Music vívoactive® 3 Music
  • vívoactive® 4 vívoactive® 4, GarminActive
  • vívoactive® 4S vívoactive® 4S, GarminActive S
  • vívoactive® HR vívoactive® HR
Average Rating: (51 Ratings)

René
April 24, 2022 | Version 1.2.11

Thanks for the update. :)

Red
April 13, 2022 | Version 1.2.9

Echoing the hope for the F7! <3 Loved this app on my VA 4.

James Young
April 7, 2022 | Version 1.2.9

I wish this worked on Fenix 7. I miss using it for the stairclimber on my old fenix

HV
April 5, 2022 | Version 1.2.9

I have loved this app on my Venu and am sad to see it's not available for the epix 2 watch that I've just ordered. Will cross my fingers that it will someday be included. Thank you for creating this app. It's extremely useful.

Murray Luke
March 3, 2022 | Version 1.2.9

Fenix 7 please

Simon Bedwell
February 8, 2022 | Version 1.2.9

Please make compatable with the F7 series

Jonny Nordin
February 4, 2022 | Version 1.2.9

No Epix version!? Please make it compatible.

René
February 4, 2022 | Version 1.2.9

Please add the F7 series.

Timee
December 16, 2021 | Version 1.2.9

Seit über einem Jahr sehr zufrieden. Bei eigenen Aktivitäten kann man so sehr leicht die Schritte in seine Anzeige einbauen.

Nessie Mupfeki
August 13, 2021 | Version 1.2.9

I have downloaded and synced it many times but still doesn't work for me. Not showing steps on the phone app when I open activity

Developer Reply
August 16, 2021, RGApps

I am sorry to hear that it is not working for you. Could you reach out to me with the details (device, use case, etc.) using the "Contact Developer" link to the right? I will do my best to solve your problem. Thank you!

Sproky
June 6, 2021 | Version 1.2.8

So kann ich endlich die Schritte in einem Training / einer Aktivität anzeigen. Ich finde es traurig, daß es beim Forerunner 645 die Möglichkeit direkt nicht gibt.

Gary
March 30, 2021 | Version 1.2.8

This does what it says it does! Thank you for this free app!

Carsten
March 3, 2021 | Version 1.2.8

This is what i was lookign for, to get Steps into Garmin Connect when bike riding, but using it today on 1:30h intensive Bike ride just gave mit zero steps on the Watch. I am using a FR 745. What am i doing wrong? Thanks for answering

Anders Svan
February 3, 2021 | Version 1.2.8

Works great!

David Warlick
January 30, 2021 | Version 1.2.8

This widget displays the step count while exercising. After the exercise, the widget attaches the step count to the FIT file. My only complaint is with Garmin, as about once a month Garmin actions wipe out my FR235 watch. The reboot forces me to reload this wonderful widget.

John
January 12, 2021 | Version 1.2.8

Perfect addition to my 5X data screens.

Gary H-L
December 14, 2020 | Version 1.2.7

Does exactly what I was looking for. Writes step data to fit files and also shows steps in walks, hikes and runs (once added to data fields). Amazed me that this data wasn’t available to view by activity in Garmin connect from a £700 watch, without a third party writing the functionality in. Good job, the man deserves a beer!

Developer Reply
December 22, 2020, RGApps

Thank you! I am happy to read that I could help you. :)

John Jensen
November 21, 2020 | Version 1.2.7

Great app to show how many steps you take in an activity. But now my Forerunner 245 had trouble to sync my Daily steps to Garmin Connect. I dont now if its this app ore the update 5.50

Claire 🇨🇵 🇺🇦🧘🏻‍♀️ 🚶🏻‍♀️🙏🏻
November 21, 2020 | Version 1.2.7

Nice but I am not sure that the step counter is accurate. A lot of steps are not being counted. And it does not appear on walking activities on Garmin connect (don't know why?). Thanks

NEIL PRITCHARD
September 8, 2020 | Version 1.2.7

Does wot is says on the tin. However on the Forerunner 735XT it does not display the steps in the details of the activity any idea why ?

Berend Reeskamp
August 22, 2020 | Version 1.2.7

Thanks a lot for this. Unfortunately, after adding the datafield to a certain activity (for example Cardio), it does not register/show any steps in the datafield. It just shows the datafield’s title “Steps” in the screen, combined with a blank field without any stepnumbers. Maybe I am doing something wrong? I would like to know if that is the case. I am using a Vivoactive 4. Thanks in advance!

Marcus
July 21, 2020 | Version 1.2.7

Nice data field that enables step count in all activities. I would like to have additionally the continous step count data written into the fit file so that you see the data graph. (total step raise or steps/min) That will make the data field perfect, so I hope for this feature in an upcoming update.

Fabi
June 22, 2020 | Version 1.2.7

Thank you for this must have Data field!!! Felt always ashamed when someone asked me during hiking about the steps. With this Data field must not be ashamed anymore... Nontheless hoe the heck such expensive "Sportwatches" should have this Data field in the Default settings. Kudos to the coder!

zochel76 🇩🇪
April 17, 2020 | Version 1.2.7

Die Schritte zeigt es zwar in der aktuellen Benutzung mit an, aber die Schrittzähler wird nicht bei der gesamt azswertung nicht mehr, schade Fenix3 HR

Developer Reply
April 18, 2020, RGApps

Sorry to hear that you do not see the steps in the post workout overview. However, it is because of a bug in the Fenix 3 firmware (as I mentioned in the description), and, thus, I am not able to fix it. Thank you for your understanding!

Jonathan Havens
March 6, 2020 | Version 1.2.7

I just want to take a moment and say thank you for creating this - and +1 for making it publicly available via Github. As an aspiring Garmin developer it helps GREATLY when knowledgeable developers post their work for others to learn from. Thank you!