App Icon

EveryTile

Description

This datafield helps to improve the veloviewer explorer score, see</p><p></p><p>https://blog.veloviewer.com/veloviewer-explorer-score-and-max-square/</p><p></p><p>The header shows: number of tiles visited for the first time, number of unique tiles visited during current activity and the tile coordinates (relative to the home tile)</p><p></p><p>Below, tiles surrounding the current location are shown. Red=never visited, Dark-green: visited in the past, Light-green: visited during current activity. In addition the recent track and a heading-direction indicator are displayed.</p>

What’s New

version 1.1.4: added support for Edge® 1000 and Edge® 1030</p><p>version 1.1.5: added support for landscape modes</p><p>version 1.1.6: fixed an issue that showed up with the newest firmwares</p><p>version 1.1.7: added support for Edge® 530 and Edge® 830</p><p></p><p>Warning: Garmin changed the maximal string length for the App settings to 256 Characters, which brakes the mechanism of importing your map to the app. Currently there is no workaround available. Update Feb. 14th 2021: Garmin seems to have fixed the issue and the app works as intended for now.

Additional Information

Permissions

This app requires access to:

  • GPS location
  • Edge® 1000 Edge® 1000
  • Edge® 1030 Edge® 1030
  • Edge® 1030 Plus Edge® 1030 Plus
  • Edge® 1030, Bontrager Edge® 1030, Bontrager
  • Edge® 520 Edge® 520
  • Edge® 520 Plus Edge® 520 Plus
  • Edge® 530 Edge® 530
  • Edge® 820 Edge® 820
  • Edge® 830 Edge® 830
  • Edge® Explore Edge® Explore
  • Edge® Explore 1000 Edge® Explore 1000
  • Edge® Explore 820 Edge® Explore 820
Average Rating: (13 Ratings)

Jim Karthauser
May 26, 2021 | Version 1.1.7

There are still problems with the map string. Using Garmin Express doesn't seem to copy the lat/long or map string to my 1030, and it only works with very small map strings using the Connect IQ iOS app. It won't allow me to copy my max cluster string over. I hit save and I get a 'sorry this page is not available' page on the garmin app. I have had to shrink the area of the map string generator meaning the boundary tiles are missing. Is there any way to back up the map string generated from the app, I had to reset my 1030 and have to start from scratch again as can't use the map string generator as desired. I'm thinking ahead for next time this happens.

Hannah Stahl
March 25, 2021 | Version 1.1.7

It was not possible for me to create a valid entry for the home coordinates in the GarminConnect/apps/rideeverytile/settings mask under MacOS to place a current kml file on the Garmin. There is probably a syntax conflict or bug? It is not possible to enter a dot - and a comma is not accepted as a valid keyboard character. Then I tried it under Windows - it works there without any problems. Useful tool!

Robert Lindhout
February 11, 2021 | Version 1.1.7

Did not have the map string issue (Feb 11 2021). Works like a charm!

Developer Reply
February 14, 2021, TomaszKorzec

Thanks! I can confirm, that it works as intended for me as well (Feb 14 2021)

Hans Van Wijngaarden
December 2, 2020 | Version 1.1.7

I had the same problem as named in the other reviews: only red tiles. It seemed the kml file didn’t fit. I’ve tried several times on my Macbook with the same disappointing result. Today I tried again on a Windows computer and now I can say it works well. So in my opinion the app only works with a Windows computer.

Gregrogry
August 12, 2020 | Version 1.1.7

Pretty useless : I followed the procedure (http://www.shmo.de/EveryTile/setup.html) to generate a string, but it is too long according to Garmin Express. Which means all my squares are red. Actually, they all become red whenever I switch my Edge 520 on to go for a ride... Which is of no help for veloviewer tiles, and not much help for tracking tiles as a rule anyway. Sad, because despite a spartan interface (very much to my liking), it seems it might have been great to use it as a on field complement to track tiles. Maybe the app could load the string from a file deposited on the edge instead of as a string from the IQ interface ? Or even, work out directly from a .kml file as downloaded on Veloviewer ?

Developer Reply
February 14, 2021, TomaszKorzec

If you still want to give it a try: Garmin seems to have changed something, and (at least for me, Feb. 14th 2021) the generation of the map-string works again.

PeatFearie
June 17, 2020 | Version 1.1.7

This app is really a great piece of software. Sadly it seems that Garmin does not allow to use strings longer than 256 chars in Garmin Express / Mobile now so it is not possible to set the map string anymore. Otherwise it works fine.

VirtualDynamo
October 24, 2019 | Version 1.1.6

I installed EveryTile recently and used it to increase the number of tiles I earned on a 200k rando event by 23! The lack of a map background is kind of rustic and that the up is always North can be a bit disorienting. However, it doesn't require much savvy to master. Here's a helpful hint: The instructions on how to create a KML file are useful for creating a map string very close to home. It's better to install the VeloViewer Chrome browser extension - https://blog.veloviewer.com/veloviewer-chrome-extension-for-strava-website/. Then you can create a KML file for whatever area you have open in the map view

Cees Tuytel
August 6, 2019 | Version 1.1.6

2 times the app gifs a green field, but in veloviewer its no hit. And when i stop and put my garmin on pause the fields reset and went al red.

Developer Reply
December 2, 2019, TomaszKorzec

The resetting on pause should be fixed with the newest update. But if the tiles went to red (and not light-green to dark-green), you were probably too far away from your home tile. As for the false positives: I haven't encountered any myself. But if there is some rounding issue, it could depend on where in the world you sit. I can try to look into the issue, if you send me the fit file for the activity and tell me which tile (I need the coordinates of some point inside) did get ticked by the app and not by veloviewer.

David
April 10, 2019 | Version 1.1.6

An updated review (sadly I needed to delete the old review as I could not edit/update). I now have the app working. Turns out that using Garmin Express was the problem (for some reason), and using the iOS app to instal the app and update the settings did the trick. Thanks to TomaszKorzec for the app and the support.

Stephan Langer
January 8, 2019 | Version 1.1.6

Works now perfectly on Edge 820 with Firmware 10.0. Thanks for the correction :-)

Alexander Loewenthal
December 19, 2018 | Version 1.1.6

It works perfectly for Identifying the new tiles that I am going in to but I have never been able to generate the previous tiles that I have been in even following the how to page. I am using a Garmin edge 1000.

Pete Bartlett
November 21, 2018 | Version 1.1.5

Hi Tomasz, Thank you for writing this great app! I found the same as the other two - it was not working with once the latest firmware had been pushed to my Edge 1030. HOWEVER - and this a big thank you to you for opening the source - if I recompile the app against the latest SDK (3.0.x) it DOES work for me (I re-uploaded a beta version of a new app called "RideEveryTile"). Would you be interested in regenerating the app against a new SDK? Alternatively should I try to publish the version I compiled? Thanks, Pete

Developer Reply
November 24, 2018, TomaszKorzec

Thanks for the hint! It turns out, the app did not ask for permissions to use GPS locations (in the manifest file). Previous firm-wares were not checking the permissions properly, but now they do. Please let me know if the current version still causes any troubles. cheers, Tomasz

Stephan Langer
September 8, 2018 | Version 1.1.5

Work great on edge 820 until firmare 9.10. Very usefull for tile hunting. On Firmware 10.0 there seams to be a bug in the firmware, leading to havig just displayed the map, but can see no movement at all and no route/trip. I think this is a bug in the firmware and not in the App - since downgrade to firmware 9.10 repairs this problem.

Developer Reply
November 24, 2018, TomaszKorzec

thanks for the review! It turns out, the bug was on my side. The app did not ask for permissions to use GPS locations. Former firmware versions ignored the lacking permissions, the newest ones are strict (as they should be). All should be good now.

Sorry, no statistics available yet.