App Icon

routeCourse

Description

routeCourse from dynamicWatch: download routes to your Garmin Edge, Fenix 5 or Forerunner 645/935 watch directly from Strava, Ride with GPS, Google Maps, MapMyRide or Garmin Connect, or create a route in seconds in our mobile-phone-friendly Planner.</p><p></p><p>Designed for cyclists (and for runners and hikers on the Forerunner 935 and Fenix 5/5S/5X watches, and on the Oregon 700 and Rino 700 ...

What’s New

Troubleshooting guide for common support questions: https://is.gd/dwhelpfaq</p><p>Email info@dynamic.watch for other support questions. We reply quickly, and it is a far better method of contact than putting a question in a review here and hoping that we see it.

Additional Information

Permissions

This app requires access to:

  • Send/receive information to/from the Internet
  • Saved information such as courses, routes, waypoints, tracks or workouts
  • GPS location
  • D2™ Charlie D2™ Charlie
  • D2™ Delta D2™ Delta
  • D2™ Delta PX D2™ Delta PX
  • D2™ Delta S D2™ Delta S
  • Descent™ Mk1 Descent™ Mk1
  • Edge® 1000 Edge® 1000
  • Edge® 1030 Edge® 1030
  • Edge® 520 Edge® 520
  • Edge® 520 Plus Edge® 520 Plus
  • Edge® 820 Edge® 820
  • Edge® Explore Edge® Explore
  • Edge® Explore 1000 Edge® Explore 1000
  • Edge® Explore 820 Edge® Explore 820
  • Forerunner® 645 Forerunner® 645
  • Forerunner® 645 Music Forerunner® 645 Music
  • Forerunner® 935 Forerunner® 935
  • fēnix® 5 fēnix® 5
  • fēnix® 5 Plus fēnix® 5 Plus
  • fēnix® 5S fēnix® 5S
  • fēnix® 5S Plus fēnix® 5S Plus
  • fēnix® 5X fēnix® 5X
  • fēnix® 5X Plus fēnix® 5X Plus
  • fēnix® Chronos fēnix® Chronos
  • Oregon® 7 Series Oregon® 7 Series
  • Rino® 7 Series Rino® 7 Series
Average Rating: (213 Ratings)

George Kinnard
September 21, 2018 | Version V1.2.0018

I am so impressed with routeCourse. I found it very easy to get started -- I set up my new account on Connect IQ, installed routeCourse on my Garmin 520, and did my first download directly from Ride With GPS, all in about 5 minutes. Although I have yet to import a TCX file, I played around with the import functionality and it is straight forward and easy.

Achim Meinerzhagen
September 15, 2018 | Version V1.2.0018

Thanks for the quick problem solving.

Tommy
September 8, 2018 | Version V1.2.0018

The routes I've saved all have the same name and it's a 'premium' feature to rename them. Pass.

Developer Reply
September 9, 2018, mappicus

Hi Tommy, please contact us at info@dynamic.watch and we'd be delighted to help you troubleshoot your issue. (We might not spot a tech support question within a review here for few days, but we respond very promptly to emails.) This is due to the first 16 chars of the name being the only way we can compare a route with the ones already downloaded to the Garmin, as there is no unique key available.

Mark Ha
September 1, 2018 | Version V1.2.0018

The import feature works quite good, even when using a tablet. On my forerunner I do not want to miss this app.

Steve Morris
August 20, 2018 | Version V1.2.0018

Easy and intuitive. So much better than using the device native way to add routes.

Pierre
August 8, 2018 | Version V1.2.0017

Très pratique sur un edge 820

Dennis Van der Galiën
July 13, 2018 | Version V1.2.0017

Very handy! Even for novice.

Panagiotis Tsairidis
June 23, 2018 | Version V1.2.0016

I would like to get some info on how it works. Is there anywhere like a forum that I can find such information

Developer Reply
June 24, 2018, mappicus

Take a look at our Help Center for routeCourse, at https://dynamic.watch/help/routecourse

Susan Shaffer
June 21, 2018 | Version V1.2.0016

I was unable to load ridewithgps routes to my 520 Plus by connecting it to my computer. I found this app and it worked like a charm! I was about ready to return my Garmin until I found this solution. Great App!

stevek77
June 15, 2018 | Version V1.2.0014

Great app does just what I need. Also great support from Marcus when I had a problem. Thanks!

Maarten
June 11, 2018 | Version V1.2.0014

Top

Antoni Pons
June 9, 2018 | Version V1.2.0014

I don't know what I'm doing wrong, but I only can see a few routes from Strava, like 3 o 4, not more...

Developer Reply
June 9, 2018, mappicus

Please contact us at info@dynamic.watch and we'd be delighted to help you troubleshoot your issue. (We might not spot a tech support question within a review here for few days, but we respond very promptly to emails.) With Strava you are only supposed to see your "starred" routes, so that sounds like it might be working as intended, as seeing one's full list of routes can be overwhelming.

Christoph
June 7, 2018 | Version V1.2.0014

Works for the Garmin Edge 520 Plus after I was provided with a Beta version almost immediately after contacting the developer. Thx!

Dennis Schoen
June 2, 2018 | Version V1.2.0014

Doesnt work with Garmin Edge 520 plus

Developer Reply
June 2, 2018, mappicus

Please see the note in the "What's New" section regarding the new Edge 520 Plus and contact us regarding getting a beta build of the app that should work on that model.

marciero
May 31, 2018 | Version V1.2.0014

With great support from Markus got the app to work on 520 plus-the issue was non-responsive select button, which has appeared in another context not involving an app so is Garmin issue. This app takes care of the point-to-point on-the-fly mapping that the 520 plus lacks. Would give 5 stars but for two missing features: the lack of routing on the app itself-whether on the phone or a notepad (You must do this from the website. Not such a big deal) and the lack of automatically routing to the location you enter (The map centers where you enter but you have to physically tap the location). But no complaints on functionality of existing features.

Jonny Smith
May 27, 2018 | Version V1.2.0014

Excellent app works a dream. First class assistance too from Marcus at dynamic watch as I had issues when I first installed this, turns out it was my Garmin. However, no question was too much trouble for them and with their quick responsesand I was pointed to a forum which had all the answers I needed. Great app and a great person behind it!

MattEaglen
May 26, 2018 | Version V1.2.0014

Really great app, very easy route planning and transfer onto my garmin edge is straight forward and quick. I had some initial issues with set up which were quickly resolved with help via email. Very responsive. Highly recommended.

Alfredo
May 25, 2018 | Version V1.2.0014

I changed my fr235 for a fr645, and begun using routeCourse instead dwMap. All I want to say is... wow!

Ivan Grgić
May 18, 2018 | Version V1.2.0014

Hi, I would like to write my question/suggestion here. As fenix 5 supposedly has memory problems for storing maps and maps are not supported, I guess your app works by not storing map data on fenix 5 but instead it overwrites data when generating new background map image (which phone downloads from internet). But if that is the case, why isn't it possible to make an application which would have the possibility to download and import high detail map onto your phone and store it for offline use, then do the same thing - send background images (of small size) to fenix 5/5S. That way we could have maps on our fenix 5/5S and we would need only our phones (with bluetooth connection) which would serve as offline maps storage and map background image generator. Just like that we could have proper navigation with maps only depended on gps. I would like to know if it is possible?

Developer Reply
May 18, 2018, mappicus

Hi Ivan, (and copying same reply as in the dwMap review) there are some open questions that we are looking into as whether such a scheme is feasible, as we started to think along these lines as soon as we launched V3 of dwMap, and especially when we launched the companion phone apps for Premium last week. We have many of the necessary platform pieces in place, but it's not clear yet whether there is a feasible way of doing this within the constraints of the Connect IQ platform. It would be of more relevance to dwMap than to routeCourse.

Richard
May 12, 2018 | Version V1.2.0014

A totally brilliant app, all I need the USB cable, for now, is charging. No more messing with copy-paste or certain apps not putting the files in the right place. I totally recommend the Chrome plugin too. Plan your route in almost any browser package it seems and then click the plugin to send to this app on your Garmin.

Wilk
May 5, 2018 | Version V1.2.0013

Service was working great, but from about 2 weeks - my routes from RWGPS aren't loading. RouteCourse sees only older routes (and I can download them) but newer routes which I created in last time - I can not see them in RouteCourse

Developer Reply
May 5, 2018, mappicus

Wilk, This sounds EXACTLY like the effect change we recently announced to bringing in PINNED not ALL Ride with GPS routes automatically. Please contact us at info@dynamic.watch and we'd be delighted to help you troubleshoot your issue. (We might not spot a tech support question within a review here for few days, but we respond very promptly to emails.)

Matty M
May 2, 2018 | Version V1.2.0013

This looks awesome! I can see this is going to be a much used app on my fr935.

Lynda Wacht
May 2, 2018 | Version V1.2.0013

This may be a bit premature, since I haven't actually used the course, but I was actually able to get the course loaded into my watch, something I have had no luck doing with Connect. I can't even get Connect to upload anything to itself, much less to my watch. I do 100 mile races and like to have the course loaded "just in case". I just assumed the files were too big, since I had issues with my Fenix 3 getting the entire course loaded. Fingers crossed this works for me. Thanks for this app.

Steve Davis
April 18, 2018 | Version V1.2.0013

A great way to upload routes to my Garmin Edge 520, especially when I'm travelling without a laptop. Doing it wirelessly is a great solution.

David Wilkinson
April 11, 2018 | Version V1.2.0013

Been using for a couple of weeks now. 1. Great way of getting routes onto your Garmin. 2. Pay the extra and get Premium - the route planning is the best I've seen. It's able to follow Sustrans cyclepaths, and the MTB option allows you to follow bridleways. I'm impressed, as I've used several route planning apps over the past few years, and this is the best by far.

Sorry, no statistics available yet.