App Icon

Mappily Maps


**Any issues at all, we'd love to hear from you either at [email protected] or on our new support forum to resolve any questions you might have.**</p><p>Application website:</p><p>New support forum:</p><p></p><p>Free for 30 days and no sign up required. The best Garmin map and navigation app for running, walking and cycling. There's no catch! Works on devices without native maps. Record activities while navigating using live zoomable mapping with downloadable maps that reorient in your direction of travel. Follow routes, get off-route warnings and configure up to 10 data fields on 2 screens. </p>

What’s New

0.0.46</p><p> - New Feature! You can now hide either data field on the map screen. Choose "None" at the top of the menu</p><p>0.0.45</p><p> - More robust fix for the Venu 2 Start issue. Support for various D2, FR255 and FR955 models</p><p>0.0.43</p><p> -Bug fix: Some users reported the activity Start screen hanging on the Venu 2</p><p>0.0.42</p><p> -Support for D2 Air</p><p>0.0.41</p>

Additional Information


This app requires access to:

  • Bluetooth Low Energy communication
  • Send/receive information to/from the Internet
  • FIT files (activity recordings)
  • GPS location
  • Sensor data (i.e., ANT+, heart rate, compass)
  • Your Garmin Connect™ fitness profile
  • Approach® S62 Approach® S62
  • Captain Marvel Captain Marvel
  • D2™ Air D2™ Air
  • D2™ Air X10 D2™ Air X10
  • D2™ Charlie D2™ Charlie
  • D2™ Delta D2™ Delta
  • D2™ Delta PX D2™ Delta PX
  • D2™ Delta S D2™ Delta S
  • D2™ Mach 1 D2™ Mach 1
  • Descent™ Mk1 Descent™ Mk1
  • Descent™ MK2 Descent™ MK2, Descent™MK2i
  • Descent™ Mk2S Descent™ Mk2S
  • Enduro™ Enduro™
  • Enduro™ 2 Enduro™ 2
  • First Avenger First Avenger
  • Forerunner® 245 Forerunner® 245
  • Forerunner® 245 Music Forerunner® 245 Music
  • Forerunner® 255 Forerunner® 255
  • Forerunner® 255 Music Forerunner® 255 Music
  • Forerunner® 255S Forerunner® 255S
  • Forerunner® 255S Music Forerunner® 255S Music
  • Forerunner® 55 Forerunner® 55
  • Forerunner® 645 Forerunner® 645
  • Forerunner® 645 Music Forerunner® 645 Music
  • Forerunner® 745 Forerunner® 745
  • Forerunner® 935 Forerunner® 935
  • Forerunner® 945 Forerunner® 945
  • Forerunner® 945 LTE Forerunner® 945 LTE
  • Forerunner® 955 Forerunner® 955, Forerunner® 955 Solar
  • fēnix® 5 fēnix® 5, quatix® 5
  • fēnix® 5 Plus fēnix® 5 Plus
  • fēnix® 5S fēnix® 5S
  • fēnix® 5S Plus fēnix® 5S Plus
  • fēnix® 5X fēnix® 5X, tactix® Charlie
  • fēnix® 5X Plus fēnix® 5X Plus
  • fēnix® 6 fēnix® 6
  • fēnix® 6 Dual Power fēnix® 6 Dual Power
  • fēnix® 6 Pro fēnix® 6 Pro, fēnix® 6 Sapphire
  • fēnix® 6 Pro Dual Power fēnix® 6 Pro Dual Power
  • fēnix® 6 Pro Solar fēnix® 6 Pro Solar
  • fēnix® 6 Solar fēnix® 6 Solar
  • fēnix® 6S fēnix® 6S
  • fēnix® 6S Dual Power fēnix® 6S Dual Power
  • fēnix® 6S Pro fēnix® 6S Pro, fēnix® 6S Sapphire
  • fēnix® 6S Pro Dual Power fēnix® 6S Pro Dual Power
  • fēnix® 6S Pro Solar fēnix® 6S Pro Solar
  • fēnix® 6S Solar fēnix® 6S Solar
  • fēnix® 6X Pro fēnix® 6X Pro, fēnix® 6X Sapphire, fēnix® 6X Pro Solar, tactix® Delta Sapphire, quatix® 6X Solar, tactix® Delta Solar, tactix® Delta Solar Ballistics
  • fēnix® 7 fēnix® 7, quatix® 7
  • fēnix® 7S fēnix® 7S
  • fēnix® 7X fēnix® 7X, quatix® 7X – Solar Edition
  • fēnix® Chronos fēnix® Chronos
  • Mercedes-Benz Venu® Mercedes-Benz Venu®
  • Mercedes-Benz Venu® 2 Mercedes-Benz Venu® 2
  • Mercedes-Benz Venu® 2S Mercedes-Benz Venu® 2S
  • quatix® 6 quatix® 6
  • quatix® 6X quatix® 6X, quatix® 6X Solar, quatix® 6X Dual Power
  • tactix® 7 tactix® 7, tactix® 7 – Pro Ballistics Edition, tactix® 7 – Pro Edition
  • Venu® Venu®
  • Venu® 2 Venu® 2
  • Venu® 2 Plus Venu® 2 Plus
  • Venu® 2S Venu® 2S
  • Venu® Sq. Venu® Sq.
  • Venu® Sq. Music Venu® Sq. Music
  • vívoactive® 3 vívoactive® 3
  • vívoactive® 3 Mercedes-Benz® Collection vívoactive® 3 Mercedes-Benz® Collection
  • vívoactive® 3 Music vívoactive® 3 Music
  • vívoactive® 4 vívoactive® 4, GarminActive
  • vívoactive® 4S vívoactive® 4S, GarminActive S
Average Rating: (113 Ratings)

Kayes Islam
December 2, 2022 | Version 0.0.46

This app is amazing. I went for my cycling trip with the app and below are my suggestions from the use experience: 1. Turn by turn navigation with vibration when approaching a turn. I found myself constantly looking at the watch to Check when my turn was approaching. Vibration just 100 meters ahead of the turn (maybe with screen turn on) would help me in that scenario. 2. I wish I could see more of the map in front of me, less behind. In other words, I wished the navigation triangle was more towards the bottom of the screen rather than the centre. This would help me since I have the setting turned on to orient the map towards the direction of travel. Thank you

Developer Reply
December 2, 2022, davidc99

Thanks for your review. We're glad you like it. We've considered adding turn warnings but it's actually quite complicated to calculate when a 'turn' is coming up. It's possible, but the watch has such limited computing power and it is being pushed to the max by all the other clever things it's having to do that moment. Regarding the location of the 'centre', we did move this off-centre a litte to give more map above your position, but this was a compromise so you have enough context on where you have been. We could consider making this configurable - we'll think about it.

Rolon Evanson
October 28, 2022 | Version 0.0.45

Very good, uncluttered display easy to view.

Jan Vodička
August 8, 2022 | Version 0.0.45

Many THX for super apk. Would it be possible to have there "back to start" screan/functionality. Thx.

July 18, 2022 | Version 0.0.45

Really like this app, it lets me navigate on my venu 2 plus with a map while running and cycling. Responsive developer has been very helpful also.

Developer Reply
July 18, 2022, davidc99

Thanks Chris. Glad to be able to help

Phil True
July 14, 2022 | Version 0.0.45

Works really well. Offline maps are awesome. Easy to sync and get maps/routes to watch. Would give 5 stars but for the fact that when the watch screen times out it sometimes doesn't warn when off route. Also, sometimes takes a while to re-sync the maps display to current location after raising wrist to view the map. Missed my turn twice. Good news is that the off-route warning works, but seems to only do so when the display is on. Venu 2

David AV
July 11, 2022 | Version 0.0.45

Molt bona aplicació per models que inexplicablement no tenen la opció d'instal·lar mapes. De moment m'està funcionant molt bé amb el Garmin Venu 2. Felicitats i moltes gràcies per sol·lucionar aquest problema.

Developer Reply
July 12, 2022, davidc99

Thank you for your review. We enjoy hearing about people making good use of the app. Any questions or comments, please get in touch

June 16, 2022 | Version 0.0.43

Not fast GPS for Vivoactive 3

Vance MacDougall
June 8, 2022 | Version 0.0.43

It's ok.

April 17, 2022 | Version 0.0.41


Jan Smits
April 9, 2022 | Version 0.0.41

Brilliant app, only today my Vivoactive 4 gave an IQ with exclamation mark error. After rebooting my watch and several restarts of the app, it said "invalid media type" and after that "invalid route" with a red circle. Then i downloaden my route and it worked. Maybe it is caused by me, deleting the route from the uploadsite while it was still on the watch ?

Developer Reply
April 10, 2022, davidc99

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to give feedback. The Invalid Media Type Error sounds like something internal to the watch, since that error isn't built into the app. We did release a new version a couple of days back, so perhaps that messed up something temporarily. Glad that you managed to get it working again. Any issues, please let us know either here or on the forum qnd we'll fix them up straightaway. David

Bas Zwaan
March 23, 2022 | Version 0.0.40

Does not seem to be working on the garmin venu 2. Gpx route from strava gives an invalid error. Plus I get an error code afterwards.

Developer Reply
March 23, 2022, davidc99

Hi, Sorry to hear you're having issues. Please email us at [email protected] and we'll fix this.

Michael Cooke
March 18, 2022 | Version 0.0.40

Incredible app, gives my 645 Music the offline maps functionality of a much more expensive watch. Pricing is very reasonable for the premium version. Great to see extra functionality being added over time (e.g. Strava routes sync recently).

Dan Watson
March 6, 2022 | Version 0.0.40

Brilliant app. I hike a lot and was desperate to have the ability to have my route immediately to hand on my Vivoactive 4s without having to keep getting my phone out. Having tried some of the other mapping apps on the Connect store, I was almost resigned to having to buy a Fenix model at significant cost but then I found Mappily and it does exactly what I need it to do. Upgrading to premium once my free trial expired was a no brainer. It would be great if there was a way to see my remaining battery somewhere in the app, especially for the longer hikes.

Developer Reply
March 7, 2022, davidc99

Glad to hear youre enjoying it. Tell all your friends! You can add battery percentage as a data field (just like pace, time etc.) to either the map or data screens.

February 12, 2022 | Version 0.0.40

Se instala bien. Se ejecuta sin problema. En mi Forerunner 254 la visibilidad de los mapas y la ruta es excelente. Felicidades al desarrollador!

Jonas Råberg
January 30, 2022 | Version 0.0.40

Really a fantastic app, I bought it long before the trail expired. I love that the developer is adding new features and keep developing the app. The new breadcrum trail is really good in areas with lots of trails to be able to navigate more easily. I have one suggestion/question to the developer: Would it be possible (on devices with more memory) to add 40 m offline maps for the current route? That would be so awesome!

Tony Morien
January 16, 2022 | Version 0.0.37

Really a fantastic app. Have been using it to explore a new sector of mtb trails and it's worked really well. Definitely recommend giving it a try. Easily upload multiple gpx routes online and can select from multiple on the watch face. Very user friendly

January 10, 2022 | Version 0.0.37

Transformed my Forerunner 935 into the complete device. Almost to good to believe. Had a few issues that are now were sorted very quickly by the dev.

Kevin Lapinski
January 6, 2022 | Version 0.0.36

In my opinion the best app for Garmin smartwatches without native mapping. With 3 Clicks It's possible to upload routes with maps from komoot to the watch without any need of smartphone during the trip. In addition the dev answers very quickly in a polite way and deploys freuqently new features.

January 4, 2022 | Version 0.0.36

Really nice App. The developer answers all the questions and there's active developing. Worth the money! Keep up the good work!

Carlos C
November 8, 2021 | Version 0.0.33

Nice app but gps refresh is slow for cycling. Is it an app setting or depends on the device used?

Matthew Cook
October 27, 2021 | Version 0.0.32

Excellent app. Append navigation to my forerunner 55 which is amazing. Works well. Thank you

October 27, 2021 | Version 0.0.31

Its not supporting the maps i download although its the correct format.

Developer Reply
October 27, 2021, davidc99

Hi. I suggest you drop us a mail at [email protected] so we can understand the issue. If you mean a gpx file that you've downloaded from another site, please make sure the gpx file is definitely a GPX file and not something else (like a TCX, FIT or otherwise).

Lawrence Lam
October 26, 2021 | Version 0.0.31

Does not work on my S62 Approach, uninstalled!

Developer Reply
October 27, 2021, davidc99

Sorry to hear it didn't work, but it should. If you drop us a mail at [email protected] we'd like to understand what doesn't work.

Kyle Rosinke
October 23, 2021 | Version 0.0.31

First trial run of this app had a "waiting for GPS" message on the main screen for the duration of a 4 hour hike. It was also giving me a "error c300" when I tried to load a route during the same hike. The app did manage to correctly track my distance and elevation, so I don't know why the map didn't work. I'll be trying it again tomorrow and update my review if the app works. Watch, garmin vivoactive 4.

Developer Reply
October 23, 2021, davidc99

Sorry to hear you had trouble. I suggest loading the watch's native GPS app and checking that is able to get a GPS fix. Mappily simply asks the watch to turn on GPS. Also, make doubly sure you have connectivity to the Internet on your watch via your phone when loading routes. Error 300 is a connection timeout, which would also explain why the map doesn't load (but it doesn't explain why the waiting for gps message never disappears). There are no other reports of connectivity issues at the moment, so it should be a local issue. If you still have issues, please email at [email protected] with details and we'll troubleshoot it.

October 23, 2021 | Version 0.0.31

Excellent app. I love it!