App Icon

Mappily Maps

Description

**Any issues at all, we'd love to hear from you either at [email protected] or on our new support forum to resolve any questions you might have.**</p><p>Application website: https://www.mappily.info</p><p>New support forum: https://forum.mappily.info</p><p></p><p>The best Garmin mapping app for running, walking and cycling. There's no catch! Works on devices without native mapping. Record activities while navigating using live zoomable mapping with downloadable maps that reorient in your direction of travel. Follow routes, get off-route warnings and configure up to 10 data fields on 2 screens. </p>

What’s New

0.0.39</p><p> -Reduction in memory usage to assist with low memory devices</p><p> -Protections to ensure Offline Routes don't crash low memory watches</p><p> -Fix to enable download of long routes on low memory watches</p><p>0.0.37</p><p> -Support for Venu 2 Plus</p><p>0.0.36</p><p> - On startup the app will synchronize all routes from connected Apps (eg. Strava, RideWithGPS) automatically to ensure the list of routes is always the most recent.</p>

Additional Information

Permissions

This app requires access to:

  • Bluetooth Low Energy communication
  • Send/receive information to/from the Internet
  • FIT files (activity recordings)
  • GPS location
  • Sensor data (i.e., ANT+, heart rate, compass)
  • Your Garmin Connect™ fitness profile
  • Approach® S62 Approach® S62
  • Captain Marvel Captain Marvel
  • Descent™ Mk1 Descent™ Mk1
  • Descent™ MK2 Descent™ MK2, Descent™MK2i
  • Enduro™ Enduro™
  • First Avenger First Avenger
  • Forerunner® 245 Forerunner® 245
  • Forerunner® 245 Music Forerunner® 245 Music
  • Forerunner® 55 Forerunner® 55
  • Forerunner® 645 Forerunner® 645
  • Forerunner® 645 Music Forerunner® 645 Music
  • Forerunner® 745 Forerunner® 745
  • Forerunner® 935 Forerunner® 935
  • Forerunner® 945 Forerunner® 945
  • Forerunner® 945 LTE Forerunner® 945 LTE
  • fēnix® 5 fēnix® 5, quatix® 5
  • fēnix® 5 Plus fēnix® 5 Plus
  • fēnix® 5S fēnix® 5S
  • fēnix® 5S Plus fēnix® 5S Plus
  • fēnix® 5X fēnix® 5X, tactix® Charlie
  • fēnix® 5X Plus fēnix® 5X Plus
  • fēnix® 6 fēnix® 6
  • fēnix® 6 Dual Power fēnix® 6 Dual Power
  • fēnix® 6 Pro fēnix® 6 Pro, fēnix® 6 Sapphire
  • fēnix® 6 Pro Dual Power fēnix® 6 Pro Dual Power
  • fēnix® 6 Pro Solar fēnix® 6 Pro Solar
  • fēnix® 6 Solar fēnix® 6 Solar
  • fēnix® 6S fēnix® 6S
  • fēnix® 6S Dual Power fēnix® 6S Dual Power
  • fēnix® 6S Pro fēnix® 6S Pro, fēnix® 6S Sapphire
  • fēnix® 6S Pro Dual Power fēnix® 6S Pro Dual Power
  • fēnix® 6S Pro Solar fēnix® 6S Pro Solar
  • fēnix® 6S Solar fēnix® 6S Solar
  • fēnix® 6X Pro fēnix® 6X Pro, fēnix® 6X Sapphire, fēnix® 6X Pro Solar, tactix® Delta Sapphire, quatix® 6X Solar, tactix® Delta Solar, tactix® Delta Solar Ballistics
  • fēnix® Chronos fēnix® Chronos
  • Mercedes-Benz Venu® Mercedes-Benz Venu®
  • quatix® 6 quatix® 6
  • quatix® 6X quatix® 6X, quatix® 6X Solar, quatix® 6X Dual Power
  • Venu® Venu®
  • Venu® 2 Venu® 2
  • Venu® 2 Plus Venu® 2 Plus
  • Venu® 2S Venu® 2S
  • Venu® Sq. Venu® Sq.
  • Venu® Sq. Venu® Sq.
  • Venu® Sq. Music Venu® Sq. Music
  • vívoactive® 3 vívoactive® 3
  • vívoactive® 3 Mercedes-Benz® Collection vívoactive® 3 Mercedes-Benz® Collection
  • vívoactive® 3 Music vívoactive® 3 Music
  • vívoactive® 4 vívoactive® 4, GarminActive
  • vívoactive® 4S vívoactive® 4S, GarminActive S
Average Rating: (94 Ratings)

Tony Morien
January 16, 2022 | Version 0.0.37

Really a fantastic app. Have been using it to explore a new sector of mtb trails and it's worked really well. Definitely recommend giving it a try. Easily upload multiple gpx routes online and can select from multiple on the watch face. Very user friendly

CDF
January 10, 2022 | Version 0.0.37

Transformed my Forerunner 935 into the complete device. Almost to good to believe. Had a few issues that are now were sorted very quickly by the dev.

Kevin Lapinski
January 6, 2022 | Version 0.0.36

In my opinion the best app for Garmin smartwatches without native mapping. With 3 Clicks It's possible to upload routes with maps from komoot to the watch without any need of smartphone during the trip. In addition the dev answers very quickly in a polite way and deploys freuqently new features.

Ronsn
January 4, 2022 | Version 0.0.36

Really nice App. The developer answers all the questions and there's active developing. Worth the money! Keep up the good work!

Carlos C
November 8, 2021 | Version 0.0.33

Nice app but gps refresh is slow for cycling. Is it an app setting or depends on the device used?

Matthew Cook
October 27, 2021 | Version 0.0.32

Excellent app. Append navigation to my forerunner 55 which is amazing. Works well. Thank you

Dee
October 27, 2021 | Version 0.0.31

Its not supporting the maps i download although its the correct format.

Developer Reply
October 27, 2021, davidc99

Hi. I suggest you drop us a mail at [email protected] so we can understand the issue. If you mean a gpx file that you've downloaded from another site, please make sure the gpx file is definitely a GPX file and not something else (like a TCX, FIT or otherwise).

Lawrence Lam
October 26, 2021 | Version 0.0.31

Does not work on my S62 Approach, uninstalled!

Developer Reply
October 27, 2021, davidc99

Sorry to hear it didn't work, but it should. If you drop us a mail at [email protected] we'd like to understand what doesn't work.

Kyle Rosinke
October 23, 2021 | Version 0.0.31

First trial run of this app had a "waiting for GPS" message on the main screen for the duration of a 4 hour hike. It was also giving me a "error c300" when I tried to load a route during the same hike. The app did manage to correctly track my distance and elevation, so I don't know why the map didn't work. I'll be trying it again tomorrow and update my review if the app works. Watch, garmin vivoactive 4.

Developer Reply
October 23, 2021, davidc99

Sorry to hear you had trouble. I suggest loading the watch's native GPS app and checking that is able to get a GPS fix. Mappily simply asks the watch to turn on GPS. Also, make doubly sure you have connectivity to the Internet on your watch via your phone when loading routes. Error 300 is a connection timeout, which would also explain why the map doesn't load (but it doesn't explain why the waiting for gps message never disappears). There are no other reports of connectivity issues at the moment, so it should be a local issue. If you still have issues, please email at [email protected] with details and we'll troubleshoot it.

Tim
October 23, 2021 | Version 0.0.31

Excellent app. I love it!

Laurie Carpenter
October 20, 2021 | Version 0.0.31

Such a brilliant app. Just used it to follow gpx routes and hike 400km Coast2Coast across Italy with my Forerunner 55. Has turned my great watch into a fantastic watch. Will definitely be donating. Thank you!

Developer Reply
October 20, 2021, davidc99

Thanks for the great review. Glad you like it. It's nice to hear the ways people are making good use of the app. All donations gratefully received!

Jeremy K. Barbosa
October 10, 2021 | Version 0.0.31

Cannot register my Forerunner 55, how can I generate the code needed?

Developer Reply
October 10, 2021, davidc99

Hi, You can contact me directly at [email protected] rather than leaving a review if you have an issue. If you register at mappily.info it will prompt you with instructions to generate the code. You need to open the menu in the app on the watch. The button/screen press to open the menu is specific to the watch, but the wizard should will you through that. Any issues, email us at [email protected]

Oscar Gine Sech
September 28, 2021 | Version 0.0.31

Fantastic app on my Venu 2. Thanks a lot and congratulations!!!

Richy
September 23, 2021 | Version 0.0.31

Fantastic app with ultra fast support.

꧁𒆜K⨳R⨳I⨳S⨳Z⨳T𒆜꧂
September 18, 2021 | Version 0.0.31

Wow, very promising, keep up the good work!

Pradeep Verghese
September 15, 2021 | Version 0.0.31

By far the best map app on garmin. Only issue I have is I use the offline map mode(80m zoom), it doesn't draw the whole screen most of the time. Seems like the redraw phase is not completing. It works if I don't use the offline map mode and draws the complete screen when in the activity.

Developer Reply
September 16, 2021, davidc99

Hi. Are you using a forerunner or other device with low memory. If so, o It's possible the app is adapting to prevent the device from running out of memory. Either way, drop us a mail at [email protected] with details and we'll take a look and work out what's going on. David

Sebu
September 13, 2021 | Version 0.0.30

Seems to work fine with short test walk. Is it possible to leave the app in background, so that I could access notifications and other screens of the watch? Now it seems that you can only exit from the app.

Developer Reply
September 13, 2021, davidc99

Hi, As far as I'm aware that's not possible because of the way Garmin apps work. If you've seen other apps able to do that, let me know at [email protected] thanks. David

Joecooldoo
September 13, 2021 | Version 0.0.30

I love this app! It does everything I need. Two problems: when downloading an offline map, if the map is to large and there isn't enough space on the watch, the app will crash. Second, when pausing an activity the time display and distance keep running. It doesn't actually record it when it's paused, so when you save the activity, it's fine. But I use this for Physical Education, so it would be nice to have these fixed. Nice app though. :~)

Developer Reply
September 13, 2021, davidc99

Hi - thanks for the great review. Not sure why it crashes, but we'll take a look. It should pop up to say Storage Full. Thanks for highlighting the distance issue It's reading that from the Garmin activity which is controlled by the watch itself so not sure why it does that. The Total Time will continue to tick regardless. If you're not using that field and it looks like it's still ticking drop us a mail at [email protected] and we'll investigate. David

Gilles Gabard
September 11, 2021 | Version 0.0.30

Very good app. The "offline 80m map" feature is working properly on my venu2s. One feature is missing to my eyes: a warning when approaching a coming turn on the trace. With this, it will be the best app for the venu2s

Developer Reply
September 13, 2021, davidc99

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review. We've had a few requests for turn warnings so it is something we're considering. Keep a eye out for updates, but no promises at this stage. David

Yannik
September 6, 2021 | Version 0.0.29

To make a long story short, by far the best navigation app I've ever tested! And it's free to use, although I'll probably donate to the developer soon, since the app is so great.

Gilles Gabard
September 5, 2021 | Version 0.0.28

Very good app Fully fonctionnal on venu 2s Used to walk with dwmap with premium account, but i will switch to this app now.

Developer Reply
September 5, 2021, davidc99

Thanks for the great review. I used to use dwmap and wrote this because I couldn't find an app that did exactly what I wanted. Glad to hear you're getting good use out of it. Look out for updates over the next couple of weeks which will make maps even better.

Libor Nedas
September 4, 2021 | Version 0.0.28

So far works well...

Lara Balquin
September 4, 2021 | Version 0.0.28

Map is not loading with my forerunner 55

Developer Reply
September 4, 2021, davidc99

Hi - sorry to hear it's not working. The first thing to check is that you have the watch connected to your phone and that the phone definitely has Internet connectivity. If you've checked both those things and the map is blank, please drop us an email at [email protected] and we'll sort it out. David

Scott Brady
August 28, 2021 | Version 0.0.28

Nice app. Runs well on my Venu 2 with no companion app. Developer is very responsive to questions and issues.

PePark
August 24, 2021 | Version 0.0.27

I am a lifetime premium dwmap user and love dwmap. It hurts to say, but mappily really is better in the background maps thing than dwmap and its easier to read the map at a glance. Dwmap still has more features and a way better web interface but the core feature - mapping - ist great on mappily. Few improvements: the data screen doesnt look as pleasing. I'd much prefer the plain black background with white text for looks and for battery life (just like the built in apps on the Venu). White Background is very bright at night and burns faster through your battery if you have a Amoled-device like my Venu 2. Also it'd be great if we can have more than 4 data fields. Nevertheless great app!