App Icon

Xert Workout Player

Description

Getting started guide: http://baronbiosys.com/faq-items/using-the-xert-workout-player-for-garmin-connectiq</p><p></p><p>The Xert Workout Player plays Xert's unique Smart Workouts. Using Garmin Connect Mobile, the Xert Player logs in to Xert Online (www.xertonline.com), obtains your latest Fitness Signature, downloads your selected workout, configures the exact workout interval intensities and durations specific to you and then plays the workout using your power meter and/or smart trainer. With your smart trainer, it will do trainer control. If you have both a power meter and smart trainer, it will do powermatch and trainer calibration on-the-fly. Playing Smart Intervals, it will auto-adjust interval power and duration, reducing/increasing intensity and slowing/accelerating the timer depending on how an interval is executed in real-time. Easily adjust target power or trainer resistance with swipes / up-down clicks. It will learn your cadence preferences and provide indication of when you're pedaling too fast or too slow. The app also sends telemetry back to Xert Online so you can view your data online via the Xert Remote Player (https://www.xertonline.com/remote) and follow your workout progress. </p>

What’s New

Xert Workout Player wins Best Connect IQ App Award for 2017 and 2019!</p><p></p><p>Version 3.3 brings exciting new features that enable greater variety in your workouts including ramps, slope-mode (mixed-mode) and smart, dynamic power intervals based on target MPA that adjust their target power based on your fatigue at the moment. Super cool. </p><p>This version also brings support for the Edge 1030 plus.

Additional Information

Permissions

This app requires access to:

  • Send/receive data via ANT radio to/from third-party sensors
  • Send/receive information to/from the Internet
  • FIT files (activity recordings)
  • Record additional information into activity files
  • GPS location
  • Sensor data (i.e., ANT+, heart rate, compass)
  • Edge® 1000 Edge® 1000
  • Edge® 1030 Edge® 1030
  • Edge® 1030 Plus Edge® 1030 Plus
  • Edge® 1030, Bontrager Edge® 1030, Bontrager
  • Edge® 520 Edge® 520
  • Edge® 520 Plus Edge® 520 Plus
  • Edge® 530 Edge® 530
  • Edge® 820 Edge® 820
  • Edge® 830 Edge® 830
  • Edge® Explore 1000 Edge® Explore 1000
  • Edge® Explore 820 Edge® Explore 820
Average Rating: (48 Ratings)

James Arthur
May 21, 2021

I run both this and the Android version on occasion. I use this version mostly for outdoor intervals. I'd like to see both the target and length of the upcoming interval displayed on the screen somewhere since its hard to focus on the screen for short intervals when out on the road.

David Higgins
April 12, 2021

Randomly disables sensors in the 1030 (go check your sensors). When playing via the Garmin 1030 indoors on a Wahoo Core - the app simply cannot keep up (ERG mode) with it's own workout power levels.

Developer Reply
April 13, 2021, Xert-BaronBiosystems

This is a known issue with the 830/1030 firmware when you have some CIQ datafields installed. Look for an update from Garmin to address this issue. Contact Xert support for additional help in the interim.

Simon Pugh
February 5, 2021

I think the app as designed by Xert is very good and will support doing outdoor sessions very well if you have a power meter, although for indoors sessions ai find the mobile app version running on phone or iPad much better. I have two bugbears with the Connect IG version on my Edge 1030: 1. While in a workout the app takes complete control of my Edge meaning I cannot swipe to another screen - eg to check if BLTE is on etc or use the power button to lock the screen 2. After the workout all my sensors are disabled and so I have to go into every one and re-enable them ready for my next use of the Edge. Conclusion: the integration of this well-designed app into the Garmin environment could do with some improvement.

Developer Reply
February 5, 2021, Xert-BaronBiosystems

Hi Simon. Connect IQ apps are by design apps that take over the unit. It's not like an Android or iPhone where you can run multiple apps at the same time. The issue with ending an app and have all the sensors disabled is an issue with the system firmware that we hope to see Garmin address in a future firmware release. The ConnectIQ system does not allow apps to enable or disable Garmin sensors you have configured.

Daniel Wiebke
January 19, 2021

This app crashes every now and then, very ugly interface, extraordinary bad handling. Just like the mobile app this is a very poor app but you have to use either the mobile app or this one to sync your trainer with Xert. This is real garbage.

Developer Reply
January 19, 2021, Xert-BaronBiosystems

Hey Daniel. Reach out to [email protected] for help with this. Other ConnectIQ datafields can cause this to happen unfortunately. It's a problem with the underlying handling of background services that our app doesn't control unfortunately. There are solutions we can help you with though.

Robert Corry
December 23, 2020

I installed the App on an Edge 1030 Plus. Couldn’t initiate the App, kept getting an Unknown Error when Authorising it. Contacted Support, they were very helpful, they advised to try logging in with WiFi disabled on the Edge. The App then logged in correctly. Haven’t tried using it yet, wanted to post the above for the benefit of others trying to get the App installed.

Sorry, no statistics available yet.