App Icon

METAR/TAF

Description

GARMIN WARNING: This widget is intended only as a flight planning aid and is NOT for in-flight use and should NOT be used as a primary information source.</p><p></p><p>The METAR/TAF widget is based *heavily* on Garmin's already amazing built-in widget (for the D2™ watch series) but with some improvements (and some drawbacks) and is designed to compliment the existing widget rather than replace it (at least on the D2 Charlie/Delta).</p>

What’s New

Version 1.1.0</p><p>• added wind page with runway head/tailwind and crosswind components</p><p></p><p>Version 1.0.0</p><p>• removed support for older devices</p><p>• added basic glance view</p><p>• clumsily refactored code to deal with memory issues on glance and background processes</p><p></p><p>Version 0.9.9</p><p>• added Russian translations</p><p>• added warning/error overlay when phone is not connected (no BLE)</p>

Additional Information

Permissions

This app requires access to:

  • Run in the background when it is not active (potentially affecting battery life)
  • Send/receive information to/from the Internet
  • GPS location
  • Captain Marvel Captain Marvel
  • D2™ Air D2™ Air
  • D2™ Charlie D2™ Charlie
  • D2™ Delta D2™ Delta
  • D2™ Delta PX D2™ Delta PX
  • D2™ Delta S D2™ Delta S
  • Darth Vader™ Darth Vader™
  • Descent™ Mk1 Descent™ Mk1
  • Descent™ MK2 Descent™ MK2, Descent™MK2i
  • First Avenger First Avenger
  • Forerunner® 245 Music Forerunner® 245 Music
  • Forerunner® 645 Music Forerunner® 645 Music
  • Forerunner® 745 Forerunner® 745
  • Forerunner® 945 Forerunner® 945
  • fēnix® 5 Plus fēnix® 5 Plus
  • fēnix® 5S Plus fēnix® 5S Plus
  • fēnix® 5X fēnix® 5X, tactix® Charlie
  • fēnix® 5X Plus fēnix® 5X Plus
  • fēnix® 6 Pro fēnix® 6 Pro, fēnix® 6 Sapphire
  • fēnix® 6 Pro Dual Power fēnix® 6 Pro Dual Power
  • fēnix® 6 Pro Solar fēnix® 6 Pro Solar
  • fēnix® 6S Pro fēnix® 6S Pro, fēnix® 6S Sapphire
  • fēnix® 6S Pro Dual Power fēnix® 6S Pro Dual Power
  • fēnix® 6S Pro Solar fēnix® 6S Pro Solar
  • fēnix® 6X Pro fēnix® 6X Pro, fēnix® 6X Sapphire, fēnix® 6X Pro Solar, tactix® Delta Sapphire, quatix® 6X Solar, tactix® Delta Solar, tactix® Delta Solar Ballisitcs
  • MARQ™ Adventurer MARQ™ Adventurer
  • MARQ™ Athlete MARQ™ Athlete
  • MARQ™ Aviator MARQ™ Aviator
  • MARQ™ Captain MARQ™ Captain, MARQ™ Captain: American Magic Edition
  • MARQ™ Commander MARQ™ Commander
  • MARQ™ Driver MARQ™ Driver
  • MARQ™ Expedition MARQ™ Expedition
  • MARQ™ Golfer MARQ™ Golfer
  • Mercedes-Benz Venu® Mercedes-Benz Venu®
  • quatix® 6 quatix® 6
  • quatix® 6X quatix® 6X, quatix® 6X Solar, quatix® 6X Dual Power
  • Rey™ Rey™
  • Venu® Venu®
  • Venu® Sq. Music Venu® Sq. Music
  • vívoactive® 3 Music vívoactive® 3 Music
  • vívoactive® 4 vívoactive® 4, GarminActive
  • vívoactive® 4S vívoactive® 4S, GarminActive S
Average Rating: (59 Ratings)

Ryan Arsenault
November 4, 2020 | Version 0.9.9k

This is WAY better than the default widget. Just loaded on my D2Air. Very cool man. Thanks for building an awesome interface.

Timothy Nathan
September 26, 2020 | Version 0.9.9j

Much better than Garmin’s default widget. First tool I have downloaded on my bravo, Charlie, and Delta. Love it. Thanks for making this.

Sven Freitag
September 22, 2020 | Version 0.9.9j

FAR better than Garmin's default METAR widget on my D2 Delta, thank you very much for making this!! I love the customizability you support!

Joshua Marks
May 10, 2020 | Version 0.9.9i

Used to work before my venu got an update. Can no longer scroll through the app:(

Developer Reply
May 13, 2020, DouglasR

Hi Joshua. In the future, if you run into issues please use the contact developer functionality so we can try to work through the problem(s). In this case, I have not updated the app for several months and upon further investigation it appears this is an issue with Garmin and the recent firmware released for some devices, including the Venu and Vivoactive 4. I am working on some sort of workaround but without an actual device to test on it will be a bit more complicated. See this forum post for more details: https://forums.garmin.com/developer/connect-iq/i/bug-reports/latest-fw-update-on-va4-killed-behaviordelegate

Michael Bobeck
March 31, 2020 | Version 0.9.9i

Tried to contact the developer and no success. Anyone how to change the 4 displayed stations. Would help to have some instructions.

Developer Reply
April 3, 2020, DouglasR

I double checked and received no email from you -- I reply to all requests (see various reviews below). The 4 stations displayed on the first/main page are the four stations nearest to your location.

Paul Kearney
March 4, 2020 | Version 0.9.9h

I should also mention: outstanding developer response to issues. Thanks Doug!

Developer Reply
March 4, 2020, DouglasR

Hi Paul. Thanks for the kind words and for noting in the review that there was an issue. I think the 'contact developer' functionality should be working now (I tried sending to myself) so please use that to contact me -- I'd like to give you my email so you have direct access in case of future issues.

Paul Kearney
March 4, 2020 | Version 0.9.9g

Excellent app overall. Latest version crashes after posn fix. Unable to post on Contact page. Keep up the great work Doug!

Tomas Prochazka
January 21, 2020 | Version 0.9.9g

Great widget for pilots

Gregory Daris
September 11, 2019 | Version 0.9.9e

Excellent widget !! Please update it for compatibility with fenix 6x !!

Christopher Fox
July 25, 2019 | Version 0.9.9e

It's useful, but it would be much moreso if you could choose which stations were displayed instead of just showing you the four closest. I'm not sure what the "home aerodrome" setting even does.

Henry Hudson
March 27, 2019 | Version 0.9.9b

very usable & useful.

Argo5x
November 25, 2018 | Version 0.9.9b

Even though I have updated my fenix5x I cannot download this widget ...it keeps telling me I need to update. Thanks

Matt
October 9, 2018 | Version 0.9.9-upd1

Excellent app, very usable & useful. Thanks, Matt

Tylor
October 8, 2018 | Version 0.9.9-upd1

When the widget works, it's fantastic. My problem is when I go to the widget on my watch, my watch will randomly restart itself. It gets quite annoying.

Beeng
August 15, 2018 | Version 0.9.9-upd1

Great app - my only complaint is not being able to see the raw METAR or TAF.

Josh Basquez
May 12, 2018 | Version 0.9.9

Love it on mine. I thought that tapping on a metar would bring it up, however it o ks brings up the last metar viewed. To select a metar you have to push menu button. And choose home airport or nearest which brings up a list of closest airports. Small annoyance but confusing until you get it down. Also took along time to refresh my nearest metars. Hopefully this is stable enough to use in the cockpit. We shall see.

Lars Jensen
April 1, 2018 | Version 0.9.8-upd1

Works very good. Small visual thing: den alt shows -279 ft if not available? Everything else works as expected. Thanks !!

Developer Reply
April 2, 2018, DouglasR

Hi there and thanks for the feedback. Density attitude is always calculated (using the proper, wet method) so if you see "-279 ft" then that is the actual DA for the airport you are viewing (on a cold day DA can be lower than sea level, especially at airports at lower altitudes).

savich
March 13, 2018 | Version 0.9.8-upd1

Nice and useful . Thanks

Miguel Ángel
January 20, 2018 | Version 0.9.7

Muy buena!!

Julian Appel
September 17, 2017 | Version 0.9.6

Exactly what i was looking for. I find it very useful, without the need to buy the d2.

Jens Scott
September 13, 2017 | Version 0.9.5.9

Thanks Douglas for working with me to make it work on my Epix.

Ryan Summerskill
September 8, 2017 | Version 0.9.5.8

Love this app. Gets my vivoactive hr one step closer to a d2

Roy Aycock
September 4, 2017 | Version 0.9.5.8

Works great but how do I get it to read Fahrenheit instead of Celsius? Everything else works great.

Andreas
July 25, 2017 | Version 0.9.5.3-upd

After last Update (today) it doesn't work, shows only IQ! Sorry, but don't offer it for Forerunner HR if it's not work with it.

Developer Reply
July 31, 2017, DouglasR

Hi there. Sorry you have encountered an issue using the widget. The app is confirmed to work on all the listed devices so please use the 'Contact Developer' link to send me more information so I can try and figure out why you are seeing the error screen. Also, since the update was actually an automatic update pushed out by Garmin (due to the release of the D2 Charlie watch), can you please try uninstalling the widget, restarting the watch and then re-installing the widget?

pilotguy13
July 20, 2017 | Version 0.9.5.3

Well- it is stuck on "initializing waiting for BLE connection -waiting for position fix" Doesn't work on 935. I don't see a 'contact developer button above' I'm paired with my phone.

Developer Reply
July 21, 2017, DouglasR

Hi there. If you see "waiting for position fix" then the "BLE connection" line will be crossed out, and the widget is indeed waiting while your watch is trying to get GPS fix. Are you trying to use the widget indoors? Please try to run the widget for the first time outside or near a window, where you might get a better GPS signal.

Sorry, no statistics available yet.