App Icon

Swimming App Professional

Description

The Swimming App Professional currently focuses on open water swimming and shows you key parameters like speed, pace, distance, etc. with high sensitivity GPS. Additionally an ANT+™ compatible sensor for heart rate and temperature monitoring is supported. It is designed as as watch app (and not a data field or widget).</p><p>This version is currently in BETA status and completely FREE without limitations. Everybody who provides constructive feedback will get the PREMIUM Version as present. This is the last time where all features are available for free.</p>

What’s New

UI handling improvement for Vivoactive HR</p><p>Bugfix to check against proper PREMIUM key</p><p>Several GUI improvements</p><p>Minor bug fixing</p><p>Build with Garmin SDK 3.0.3</p><p>

Additional Information

Permissions

This app requires access to:

  • FIT files (activity recordings)
  • Record additional information into activity files
  • GPS location
  • Sensor data (i.e., ANT+, heart rate, compass)
  • Heart rate, barometer, temperature, and altitude history
  • Your Garmin Connect™ fitness profile
  • Approach® S60 Approach® S60
  • D2™ Bravo D2™ Bravo
  • D2™ Bravo Titanium D2™ Bravo Titanium
  • D2™ Charlie D2™ Charlie
  • D2™ Delta D2™ Delta
  • D2™ Delta PX D2™ Delta PX
  • D2™ Delta S D2™ Delta S
  • Descent™ Mk1 Descent™ Mk1
  • epix™ epix™
  • ForeAthlete® 230J ForeAthlete® 230J
  • ForeAthlete® 235J ForeAthlete® 235J
  • ForeAthlete® 630J ForeAthlete® 630J
  • ForeAthlete® 735XTJ ForeAthlete® 735XTJ
  • ForeAthlete® 920XTJ ForeAthlete® 920XTJ
  • Forerunner® 230 Forerunner® 230
  • Forerunner® 235 Forerunner® 235
  • Forerunner® 630 Forerunner® 630
  • Forerunner® 645 Forerunner® 645
  • Forerunner® 645 Music Forerunner® 645 Music
  • Forerunner® 735XT Forerunner® 735XT
  • Forerunner® 920XT Forerunner® 920XT
  • Forerunner® 935 Forerunner® 935
  • fēnix® 3 fēnix® 3, quatix® 3, tactix® Bravo
  • fēnix® 3 HR fēnix® 3 HR
  • fēnix® 5 fēnix® 5, quatix® 5
  • fēnix® 5 Plus fēnix® 5 Plus
  • fēnix® 5S fēnix® 5S
  • fēnix® 5S Plus fēnix® 5S Plus
  • fēnix® 5X fēnix® 5X, tactix® Charlie
  • fēnix® 5X Plus fēnix® 5X Plus
  • fēnix® Chronos fēnix® Chronos
  • vívoactive® vívoactive®
  • vívoactive® 3 vívoactive® 3
  • vívoactive® 3 Music vívoactive® 3 Music
  • vívoactive® HR vívoactive® HR
Average Rating: (353 Ratings)

_Aner_
May 19, 2019 | Version 1.2.0

Great app. Just one thing is really bad: the distance displayed when the app is running is correct, but when the swim is finished & recorded, it shows a distance ~40% too long, both in the watch's history, and on Garmin Connect website. Also the track is way too fuzzy. Pity.

ABikeRider
May 18, 2019 | Version 1.2.0

It's OK, but the ui is awful, it took 30.minutes and the FAQ to work out how to save. Just Keep It Simple. Press button to start and end!

Karen Creaser
May 17, 2019 | Version 1.2.0

Like it a lot. Keeps track of my distance in open water great. I’m in a large pond with no trees to get in the way of gps.

FlippinRee
May 16, 2019 | Version 1.2.0

I have a Vivoactive HR and am an avid swimmer. I have been looking for and open water swim app that would work relatively well with this watch. The information shown is perfect for me and navigation works well. But the distance calculated was quite off. I'm not sure if there's an issue with turning on and locking the GPS when it runs, or if it's something else. Just a heads up.

Mi Yugarmin
May 13, 2019 | Version 1.2.0

Here is the constructive criticism... Really like the data fields layout and the actual time shown by default. What is really annoying is an inability to change the settings not only from the watch, but neither from the Connect app on the phone. Distance... Should I go there? :) No, the app does not perform the basic function - recording the swim distance accurately. On Fenix 5X out of 1200m (600m each way) crawl swim only 427m were recorded. The pool swim recording is better (though the app is claimed to target primarily open water swims) - every 100m of crawl are recorded as 75m on Fenix 5 Plus. No, it is not the faulty hardware on both watches, because Garmin stock apps for both pool and open water provide relatively accurate distance. Hope, the devs can improve it for us to enjoy the app.

Joey Neeson
May 13, 2019 | Version 1.2.0

Very pleased with the overall performance.As a old senior who still remains active swimming open water.Would like to know my exact time, distance and Hr.My recorded distances are way off,compared to the actual Google distance.Am new to all this gadgetry so still trying to find out how to obtain MAXIMUM USAGE out of my Vivoactive. What is the Premium version, how can I obtain said App ? Many Thanks J. NEESON

Dominique Haberschill
May 12, 2019 | Version 1.2.0

I get this app for my vivoactive HR. Each time I use it it give twice the real distance. Example today I have been swimming 750 meters it shows. 1300 meters.

William Just
May 8, 2019 | Version 1.2.0

I like the layout of the app and all the information it provides, however it seems to miscalculate the distance. I have the forerunner 235.

Luca Castelli
May 8, 2019 | Version 1.2.0

I am using it for open water swim with my Vivoactive3 music and it does not work properly. 1) Distances are always overcounted, for example yesterday I swam 400-420 m and it shows 653 m 2) You have to manually lock the screen otherwise it does not work at all and it stops continuously during your swimming. I trust that the issue is with Vivoactive as I see that most of the comments are ok for the GPS section. Thanks

Chris Mack
May 7, 2019 | Version 1.2.0

Used for the first time yesterday for an open water swim using my Vivoactive3. I did a 1000m loop but the app recorded it as 1400m! The 400m loop was recorded as 576m! It also showed me as swimming over dry land which clearly isn't correct. What is the issue here?

Ross S
May 6, 2019 | Version 1.2.0

Really good app. Has all the features and information I need. Occasional GPS connection issues with FR235

raymond edwards
May 1, 2019 | Version 1.2.0

For VivoActive 3. When open water swimming after 5 minutes it only recorded 5 metres and 2 seconds. I entered the water the following day and found the lock keeps unlocking whilst swimming so I guess that this is the cause of the problem. I would like the Save and Exit screen to work first time all of the time. It is easy to discard the data by accident.

POITRIMOL
April 30, 2019 | Version 1.2.0

Une bonne application. Dommage tout de même que la distance soit nettement surestimée. Aussi la trace laissée à l'écran après déchargement n'est pas très droite....

Łukasz Chmura
April 28, 2019 | Version 1.2.0

The app look nice. But I am a little bit confused. After swiming, my fenix 5x showes me on app distance 1097m which is correct, after saving i have only 675m in garmin connect. ??? why ???

Rebecca Trotter
April 22, 2019 | Version 1.2.0

Hi, Really great app, thank you. My only comment would be that I find the button clicks a bit confusing and I accidentally hit stop during my swim today. The app itself works really well though. Thanks!

RAFA7273
April 22, 2019 | Version 1.2.0

Muy buena aplicacion

Rob Wassenburg
April 14, 2019 | Version 1.2.0

Great app!!! Thanks

TIMMY WAKEFIELD
April 14, 2019 | Version 1.2.0

I decided to try the app before my snorkeling adventure. It kept randomly pausing during the swim.

Pierce
April 5, 2019 | Version 1.2.0

Great app! Finally i'm able to do open water swim with my vivoactive3!

Uttam Prasad
April 3, 2019 | Version 1.2.0

I would have given a "great" rating if the unit of distance is both in yards and metre. I have to convert everytime. Not sure how accurate the GPS is. Otherwise, the app leorks good and exactly what I was looking for.

CJ_Hughes01
April 2, 2019 | Version 1.2.0

I didn't think I would be able to use my Vivoactive HR for open water. And then I found this app. So far, I really like it. I train 1-2km swims almost daily so this app will get lots of use. I haven't experienced any problems on my watch. The measurements for distance might be a bit out, but I simply check Google Maps for a straight line estimate and then I'll use the app simply as a progress report based on distances that I swim regularly and know of their length already.

John Million
March 31, 2019 | Version 1.2.0

Good app for the occasional swimmer. Have used in a local lake and also in the sea whilst abroad on holiday.

Mike Vincent
March 27, 2019 | Version 1.2.0

Really like this for open water swimming. Use it for triathlon training and competition with my Vivoactive HR2 . Quick GPS connection and stays ready to start for extended time which is great for long wait rolling starts. Only bit of critical feedback is that the distance measurement is quite optimistic.

Dorin Boca
March 27, 2019 | Version 1.2.0

It would be perfect if the "saving" part would be shown like a menu, and every option (to save, discard, back etc.) would stay longer on screen or until I press again the button.

Melissa Carmody
March 23, 2019 | Version 1.2.0

Great for open water swimming tracking

Sorry, no statistics available yet.