App Icon

Race Screen

Description

Race Screen is a data field that displays the most relevant information for running a race or training. It also corrects the difference between the GPS-measured distance and the actual race course distance: pressing the lap button when passing a course marker rounds the distance it displays and adjusts the average pace accordingly. If you set a race distance, it predicts your finish time.</p><p...

What’s New

- Now with option to set a lap length different from 1km or 1 mile</p><p>- Now with option to predict race finish time assuming the average pace so far is kept until the end (default is instead to assume the current pace is kept until the end)</p><p></p><p>See https://www.dcrainmaker.com/2016/12/pacing-races-garmin.html for a detailed review by DC Rainmaker</p><p></p><p>IMPORTANT NOTE: The dist...

Additional Information

Permissions

This app requires access to:

  • Your Garmin Connect™ fitness profile
  • Approach® S60 Approach® S60
  • D2™ Bravo D2™ Bravo
  • D2™ Bravo Titanium D2™ Bravo Titanium
  • D2™ Charlie D2™ Charlie
  • Descent™ Mk1 Descent™ Mk1
  • ForeAthlete® 230J ForeAthlete® 230J
  • ForeAthlete® 235J ForeAthlete® 235J
  • ForeAthlete® 630J ForeAthlete® 630J
  • ForeAthlete® 735XTJ ForeAthlete® 735XTJ
  • ForeAthlete® 920XTJ ForeAthlete® 920XTJ
  • Forerunner® 230 Forerunner® 230
  • Forerunner® 235 Forerunner® 235
  • Forerunner® 630 Forerunner® 630
  • Forerunner® 645 Forerunner® 645
  • Forerunner® 645 Music Forerunner® 645 Music
  • Forerunner® 735XT Forerunner® 735XT
  • Forerunner® 920XT Forerunner® 920XT
  • Forerunner® 935 Forerunner® 935
  • fēnix® 3 fēnix® 3
  • fēnix® 3 HR fēnix® 3 HR
  • fēnix® 5 fēnix® 5
  • fēnix® 5 Plus fēnix® 5 Plus
  • fēnix® 5S fēnix® 5S
  • fēnix® 5S Plus fēnix® 5S Plus
  • fēnix® 5X fēnix® 5X
  • fēnix® 5X Plus fēnix® 5X Plus
  • fēnix® Chronos fēnix® Chronos
  • vívoactive® vívoactive®
  • vívoactive® 3 vívoactive® 3
  • vívoactive® 3 Music vívoactive® 3 Music
  • vívoactive® HR vívoactive® HR
Average Rating: (153 Ratings)

Richard Lau
May 3, 2018 | Version 1.4.3

Hi Developer, I just download it and cant appear in my 235? Any trick to use it? Many thanks Richard

Developer Reply
May 5, 2018, dp0750

See my reply to SGS below (5 reviews before yours)

Paul Hadzick
April 29, 2018 | Version 1.4.3

I'm very happy with this data field. It's my daily driver and have no intention of changing. Thank you for your hard work.

Mitru Raul
April 29, 2018 | Version 1.4.3

Great! Thanks for all your hard work!

Alex Kacprzyk
April 21, 2018 | Version 1.4.3

Well designed and working flawlessly! Used it for my marathon PB! Takes all the calculations during the race off your mind. Thank you so much for developing it and sharing with us!

Andrew Chau
April 15, 2018 | Version 1.4.3

This data field has everything you want in one place! I did my first pacing gig on the weekend, 3hr30 for a marathon, and was super stressed that I'd be off the mark. This app allowed me to come in perfectly 30 secs early, exactly as planned. The ability to round off to official markers kept me on the right pace, despite questions of my accuracy!

SGS
April 7, 2018 | Version 1.4.3

I downloaded but it doesn't appear on my forerunner 645

Developer Reply
April 7, 2018, dp0750

Race Screen is not a stand-alone app on the watch but a data field that can display information within any of the standard apps on your watch. So it just runs within the standard Run app on the watch (or any other standard app). To use Race Screen after downloading it from the Garmin Connect IQ store to your watch, configure a data screen in the relevant App on your device (for example the built-in Run app) with 1 Field as the layout, then in Field 1 select Connect IQ Fields, then select Race Screen.

Saul Martinez [Chili]
April 5, 2018 | Version 1.4.3

Can’t download, do you know why? I have a fénix 5X

Cesare Mauri
April 4, 2018 | Version 1.4.3

Really a super app, as pacer its very usefull

AH
April 1, 2018 | Version 1.4.3

Can we restart the average pace while running? Because I want to know the average pace for a specific km , for example, in a progressive training.

jrothnet
March 9, 2018 | Version 1.4.2

Is there a way to change the length of the race from meters to miles?

Developer Reply
March 13, 2018, dp0750

Meters are only used to specify the target distance in the App settings. The watch will then display this distance in whatever distance unit is set in your watch. So if you are running a half-marathon, set the target distance to 21098 meters in the App settings. Then, if your device's distance unit is set to miles, it will display 13.1 miles.

Juan Esteban
February 14, 2018 | Version 1.4.2

How do I change the target pace and distance to 8:45 and half marathon?

Eric
January 26, 2018 | Version 1.4.2

Impossible to install on my Fenix 3. Ask me an update, can't do I have the latest version. What did I do wrong ?

rwdoak
January 24, 2018 | Version 1.4.2

Wont install on my brand new Fenix5. GarminExpress also tells me version of fenix is up to date

Alex
January 5, 2018 | Version 1.4.1

I use vivoactive 3 and I download it. The interface is good and suitable for me. However, the background is unable to turn to black even I change it in the settings. Please fix it.

Малюгин Дмитрий
January 3, 2018 | Version 1.4.1

понравилось, спасибо. Но информации очень много(вроде и все важно), но глаза при взгляде блуждают по часам секунды 3. Может дело привычки. Может темп выделить красным для более быстрого считывания???

Kyle Brant
December 17, 2017 | Version 1.4.1

Love the data field but it drains the battery way too fast. My watch went from 49% to 0 in 10k. If i use the default Garmin data fields, 10k would drain about 10%. I am not sure why it eats away at the battery life so quick.

Bruce Jackson
December 16, 2017 | Version 1.4.1

Used this field for my last marathon - works perfectly and helped me set a massive new PB. Changing color if you are ahead or behind desired pace, and finish time based on current pace are killer features

Alberto Sacchini
December 8, 2017 | Version 1.4.1

It does a great job, being my one and only data page for every workout except intervals. Anyway, today I ran my first workout using the new running power data from Garmin (935 + Running Pod) and it would be super to have it in Race Screen (making it configurable instead of cadence). Thanks for all.

ugmurthy
November 30, 2017 | Version 1.4.1

Hi Developer, You did a fantastic job of creating this single data field - very useful. I have not tried it in a race situation but use it on all my especially the long and tempo runs

Mario Mannazzu
November 30, 2017 | Version 1.4.1

Ho utilizzato il Race Stern qualche giorno fa nel corso della maratona di Firenze. Devo dire che si e' comportato perfettamente. Non ha sbagliato di una virgola ed avevo sempre presente il tempo previsto di arrivo. Ottimo

Larry
November 26, 2017 | Version 1.4.1

Much, much more useful since you updated the program and enabled the average pace to be used as a basis for the predicted time, instead of the instant pace. The app now has everything I need. Well, almost everything. It would be fantastic if you replaced the cadence measurement with a lap pace measurement. Question: what happens if you leave the automatic lap alert from the regular watch set on 1 mile per lap, automatically. Does this distort the app’s very useful manual lap correction function (which you can use to correct things if the distance is slightly too much or too little when you come to a mile marker? I’m asking because it would be nice at the end of a raise to have every automatic mile split available laps in case I forget to press the manual that button once in a while.

ELF24
November 23, 2017 | Version 1.4.1

Fantastic!

Renato
November 22, 2017 | Version 1.4.1

Il campo dati migliore per la corsa! Tutte e sole le informazioni davvero importanti, con grafica leggibile e previsione gara affidabile. Il top per le gare

Cesare Mauri
November 20, 2017 | Version 1.4.1

It's the app I was waiting for!

Pascal PLM
November 18, 2017 | Version 1.4.0

Hi, with new Garmin Connect Apps in IPhone , I am looking for how to change settings for Race Screen Field. Could you help and explain in détails please ? /pascal

Sorry, no statistics available yet.