App Icon

Runcasts

Description

Runcasts is a podcast player designed to make syncing podcasts to your Garmin watch as simple and quick as possible, no iTunes or computer necessary.</p><p></p><p>Runcasts works by constantly monitoring your podcasts for new episodes and once new episodes appear, our servers proactively compress and store them until your next sync.</p><p></p><p></p><p>=== How It Works ===</p><p></p><p>• Sign up at runcasts.com</p>

What’s New

NOTE: This app is in the process of being retired. You're welcome to install and use it but please understand it will eventually be removed from the app store. Support for the app will also be winding down, so please be patient in making support requests. Thanks everyone!</p><p></p><p>=== 4.4 ===</p><p>• Fixed a bug where cover art wouldn't be updated when an episode changed</p><p>• Workaround Bluetooth detection bug present in latest Vivoactive 3 Music firmware (4.90)</p>

Additional Information

Permissions

This app requires access to:

  • Send/receive information to/from the Internet
  • Captain Marvel Captain Marvel
  • D2™ Delta D2™ Delta
  • D2™ Delta PX D2™ Delta PX
  • D2™ Delta S D2™ Delta S
  • First Avenger First Avenger
  • Forerunner® 245 Music Forerunner® 245 Music
  • Forerunner® 645 Music Forerunner® 645 Music
  • Forerunner® 945 Forerunner® 945
  • fēnix® 5 Plus fēnix® 5 Plus
  • fēnix® 5S Plus fēnix® 5S Plus
  • fēnix® 5X Plus fēnix® 5X Plus
  • fēnix® 6 Pro fēnix® 6 Pro, fēnix® 6 Sapphire
  • fēnix® 6S Pro fēnix® 6S Pro, fēnix® 6S Sapphire
  • fēnix® 6X Pro fēnix® 6X Pro, fēnix® 6X Sapphire, fēnix® 6X Pro Solar
  • MARQ™ Adventurer MARQ™ Adventurer
  • MARQ™ Athlete MARQ™ Athlete
  • MARQ™ Aviator MARQ™ Aviator
  • MARQ™ Captain MARQ™ Captain
  • MARQ™ Driver MARQ™ Driver
  • MARQ™ Expedition MARQ™ Expedition
  • Venu Venu
  • vívoactive® 3 Music vívoactive® 3 Music
  • vívoactive® 4 vívoactive® 4, GarminActive
  • vívoactive® 4S vívoactive® 4S, GarminActive S
Average Rating: (62 Ratings)

Udo Wagner
December 8, 2019 | Version 4.4.0

Do not install! Deletes all your other apps on the device.

Joshua Stillwell
November 18, 2019 | Version 4.4.0

Worked for me first time, got my favorite podcast to my my Fenix in 5 minutes. I don't know what's up with all the negative reviews, just follow directions guys! It even has album art, sweet!

Eric Sim Siow Ming
November 16, 2019 | Version 4.4.0

How to copy my song from PC to applications?

Ruby Mak
November 6, 2019 | Version 4.4.0

How to uninstall this app?!?!?!

Rob Rose
November 1, 2019 | Version 4.4.0

Works well for me. Running the free version. Takes a bit of time to upload, but I have not experienced any issues.

Steve Fowler
October 30, 2019 | Version 4.4.0

Waste of time.

Nevena
October 30, 2019 | Version 4.4.0

worst music app ever!! wifi was on all the time! and still cannot connect! plus syncing 0% for the past 30mins and still at 30%!! cannot even connect to phone's network!!

David Morris
October 28, 2019 | Version 4.4.0

Since installing this app to “just have a go and see what it’s like” I’ve not been able to access my downloaded music on my watch. Since uninstalling the app I still can’t. Wish I’d never downloaded

John McGibbon
October 22, 2019 | Version 4.4.0

The issue of being unable to access Spotify, etc, can be resolved by accessing the choice of music providers via Settings-Music-Music Providers and selecting source there. Excellent app

Kelsey
October 13, 2019 | Version 4.4.0

If there were zero stars I would rate it a zero. This app overrides all my other music providers and is impossible to uninstall. Terrible.

Developer Reply
October 13, 2019, rconradharris

Hi Kelsey, I honestly don't know what to tell you: I've reported these two bugs: 1) the music providers colliding with each other and 2) the inability to uninstall active music providers to Garmin. Unfortunately both of these bugs are in Garmin's firmware and not something Runcasts can fix or even workaround. Garmin, to my great sadness, has not fixed the issue nor have they provided any kind of update. I'm not even sure if they are actively looking into it, and, sadly, I'm not sure they will ever fix it. We don't expect our customers to distinguish between what's Garmin's fault and what's Runcasts' fault: things should just work, but at the end of the day, folks deserve to understand what's going on. If you want this fixed, don't write to me, write Garmin because they are the only ones who can fix this. Speaking personally, these 1-star reviews matter a lot to me, and the fact that I can't wave a wand and fix this issue because the issue isn't with Runcasts is completely demoralizing. I'm not sure Apple Watch will do any better here, but I'm going to be spending my time there because it CANNOT be worse. I'm not killing the Garmin app, but I'm also not going to be spending much more time on it either. Sincerely, Rick Harris, Founder of Runcasts

Augusto Lara
October 11, 2019 | Version 4.4.0

Avoid at all costs. Install hangs forever and then it’s impossible to uninstall.

Paul Gor
October 10, 2019 | Version 4.3.0

This app completely wiped out Amazon Music on my 245m. The app works as long as you're ok with it being the only provider you have and not having any other options.

Developer Reply
October 10, 2019, rconradharris

Hi Paul, Sorry for the trouble here, you're hitting a very real bug. As far as I can tell this is a bug in the Garmin firmware where it's not properly isolating Music Providers like Runcasts, Spotify and Amazon. I've reported the issue to Garmin, but so far, I haven't received a status update--otherwise I would pass that along. In the meantime, I'm experimenting with workarounds to see if there's a way to mitigate this w/o a Garmin fix. Very frustrating, I know, apologies! -Rick

Jantine
October 5, 2019 | Version 4.3.0

Hi! As somewhere below mentioned as well, it wipes out spotify and vice versa, how can I have both on the vivoactive 3 at the same time? Thanks!

Andy Cheney
September 30, 2019 | Version 4.2.3

Issues to begin with - the dev is responsive & app working great now. If you’re more than a casual listener of pods then this is a must! Support the independent devs- $5/month is perfectly reasonable!

Chris Jordan
September 28, 2019 | Version 4.2.2

Installed software to my Fenix 6 and it reboots every time you try to load music

James Meade
September 28, 2019 | Version 4.2.2

Really struggling with it, I'm trying to remove and would advise installing for the moment. Fenix 6 Pro

Simple_Salmon
September 26, 2019 | Version 4.2.2

Has wiped Amazon Music from my 945, now not sure what to do. Avoid this app until this issue is fixed.

Beeng
September 16, 2019 | Version 4.2.1

Does not download podcasts

Developer Reply
September 16, 2019, rconradharris

Hi Beeng, if you contact us at [email protected] we'd be happy to help you with any download issues you're having. Something you can try on your own is restarting your watch: we've found in many cases that restarting the watch can fix some types of networking issues found in Garmin watches--not all, but quite a few. If that doesn't work, contact us and we can dig in. -Rick

Rory Majors
September 11, 2019 | Version 4.2.1

I enjoy it when it works. I have 3 podcasts in my queue on the website and my watch shows no episodes

Developer Reply
September 11, 2019, rconradharris

Hi Rory, if you contact us at [email protected] we'd be happy to look into this for you. Thanks! -Rick

Angel
September 11, 2019 | Version 4.2.1

No le pongo cero estrellas por que no hay

ɯᴉɥɔɐ
September 10, 2019 | Version 4.1.0

Running is now much more fun! I didn't want to pay $5 each month, but organizing podcasts by hand isn't much fun on a Garmin watch. Then I gave it a try and for me, it's absolutely worth the money. It would be great if the free service wasn't so limited - not everybody has a few dollars to spare each month. But great work!

Herbert Verbaas
September 3, 2019 | Version 4.1.0

This app actually is working fine on my Vivoactive Music 3. Managing the podcasts through the site is extremely easy and the easiest I've seen up until now. Had to reset the app on the watch a few times, but that might be because I was fiddling around with the settings on the site a lot until finally deciding what podcasts to sync. Had to a power off and on of the watch one time because no music played even though BT headset was paired and watch said it was playing music. Not sure if that is a bug in the app or the watch. Space used on the site is also incorrect, says 220% is used while almost 70% is free on the watch. Other then that this now my favorite podcast app.

Brad Lane
September 3, 2019 | Version 4.1.0

Most negative comments left for this app are because of Garmin issues, not the app's. All the music apps have issues syncing over wifi. The wifi on these watches sucks.

Dimandr
August 31, 2019 | Version 4.1.0

Cannot uninstall. Error message in iq store. Iq logo with exclamation point is blocking screen.

Developer Reply
September 3, 2019, rconradharris

We've passed along the reports of difficulty uninstalling Runcasts to Garmin and are hoping this gets resolved soon. In the meantime, we've updated our docs with a recommended workaround to allow uninstalling: https://runcasts.com/faq#uninstall-runcasts

Nicola McFarlane
August 18, 2019 | Version 4.1.0

Can’t access my Spotify anymore and I can’t uninstall this!!

Sorry, no statistics available yet.