App Icon

dwMap

Description

#1 maps and routes app for Garmin Vivoactive, Fenix or Forerunner GPS watch, and Garmin's "Best Wearable Smart App" award winner!</p><p>• View and follow route maps imported directly from Strava, Ride with GPS, Google Maps, Garmin Connect, GPX files and more</p><p>• Create a route on your phone or laptop, send it wirelessly to your watch - then leave your phone behind as dwMap runs without a data connection!</p>

What’s New

• NEW V3.3 adds real-time Weather field for Premium users (available on most watches). See https://is.gd/dwweather</p><p>• FAQ for common support questions: https://is.gd/dwhelpfaq</p><p>• Email [email protected] for other support questions. We reply quickly, and it is a far better method of contact than putting a question in a review here and hoping that we see it.

Additional Information

Permissions

This app requires access to:

  • Send/receive information to/from the Internet
  • FIT files (activity recordings)
  • GPS location
  • Sensor data (i.e., ANT+, heart rate, compass)
  • Your Garmin Connect™ fitness profile
  • Approach® S60 Approach® S60
  • Approach® S62 Approach® S62
  • Captain Marvel Captain Marvel
  • D2™ Bravo D2™ Bravo
  • D2™ Bravo Titanium D2™ Bravo Titanium
  • D2™ Charlie D2™ Charlie
  • D2™ Delta D2™ Delta
  • D2™ Delta PX D2™ Delta PX
  • D2™ Delta S D2™ Delta S
  • Darth Vader™ Darth Vader™
  • Descent™ Mk1 Descent™ Mk1
  • First Avenger First Avenger
  • ForeAthlete® 230J ForeAthlete® 230J
  • ForeAthlete® 235J ForeAthlete® 235J
  • ForeAthlete® 630J ForeAthlete® 630J
  • ForeAthlete® 735XTJ ForeAthlete® 735XTJ
  • ForeAthlete® 920XTJ ForeAthlete® 920XTJ
  • Forerunner® 230 Forerunner® 230
  • Forerunner® 235 Forerunner® 235
  • Forerunner® 245 Forerunner® 245
  • Forerunner® 245 Music Forerunner® 245 Music
  • Forerunner® 630 Forerunner® 630
  • Forerunner® 645 Forerunner® 645
  • Forerunner® 645 Music Forerunner® 645 Music
  • Forerunner® 735XT Forerunner® 735XT
  • Forerunner® 920XT Forerunner® 920XT
  • Forerunner® 935 Forerunner® 935
  • Forerunner® 945 Forerunner® 945
  • fēnix® 3 fēnix® 3, quatix® 3, tactix® Bravo
  • fēnix® 3 HR fēnix® 3 HR
  • fēnix® 5 fēnix® 5, quatix® 5
  • fēnix® 5 Plus fēnix® 5 Plus
  • fēnix® 5S fēnix® 5S
  • fēnix® 5S Plus fēnix® 5S Plus
  • fēnix® 5X fēnix® 5X, tactix® Charlie
  • fēnix® 5X Plus fēnix® 5X Plus
  • fēnix® 6 fēnix® 6
  • fēnix® 6 Pro fēnix® 6 Pro, fēnix® 6 Sapphire
  • fēnix® 6S fēnix® 6S
  • fēnix® 6S Pro fēnix® 6S Pro, fēnix® 6S Sapphire
  • fēnix® Chronos fēnix® Chronos
  • MARQ™ Adventurer MARQ™ Adventurer
  • MARQ™ Athlete MARQ™ Athlete
  • MARQ™ Aviator MARQ™ Aviator
  • MARQ™ Captain MARQ™ Captain, MARQ™ Captain: American Magic Edition
  • MARQ™ Commander MARQ™ Commander
  • MARQ™ Driver MARQ™ Driver
  • MARQ™ Expedition MARQ™ Expedition
  • Rey™ Rey™
  • Venu Venu
  • vívoactive® vívoactive®
  • vívoactive® 3 vívoactive® 3
  • vívoactive® 3 Mercedes-Benz® Collection vívoactive® 3 Mercedes-Benz® Collection
  • vívoactive® 3 Music vívoactive® 3 Music
  • vívoactive® 4 vívoactive® 4, GarminActive
  • vívoactive® 4S vívoactive® 4S, GarminActive S
  • vívoactive® HR vívoactive® HR
Average Rating: (1,125 Ratings)

Martin Paulick
May 11, 2020

Nutze die App als Radcomputer mit Navi zum Rennradfahren. Mit der Kartendarstellung mittels Background Map Feature wir meine Uhr zur super schlanken Alternative zum Garmin Edge 530. Uhr um Halterung vorn am Lenker, Wahoo Trittfrequenz Sensor am Kurbelarm und Polar OH1 Herzfrequenz am Oberarm. Das Handy verschwindet in der Tasche und saugt beim fahren die Background Map Karten aus dem Netz. Ein nachladen von Kartensegmenten dauert bei mir etwa 2 Sekunden.

Petr
May 9, 2020

Best map navigation app for "non-map" watches. It will be better, if the vibrations will be stronger - or relattive to watch settings, the vibrations seems to be weaker.

ANDER
May 9, 2020

I can't install it in my Garmin Forerunner 245

Developer Reply
May 9, 2020, mappicus

Please contact us at [email protected] and we'd be delighted to help you troubleshoot your issue. (We might not spot a tech support question within a review here for few days, but we respond very promptly to emails.) Also see the Get Started guide in our Help Center at https://dynamicwatch.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/360007397591-Get-Started

Nico Maes
May 7, 2020

This app is the navigation solution for my forerunner 245. Easy plot your route with Route Planner er equivalent, import gpx. Simple as that, gone smartphone. I updated to premium for some add ons, and a quick mail for support was almost immediately answered from Marcus. Thank you!

Marijus
May 5, 2020

Your garmin watch can do the same thing without this app.

Developer Reply
May 6, 2020, mappicus

Some high end Garmin watches offer some of the capabilities of dwMap (and our routeCourse app is a good choice for those) but dwMap adds a great many features missing from the Vivoactive, Forerunner and some Fenix models.

Dirk
May 2, 2020

I upgraded to premium and it is the best. Great app with wonderful features. You will need some tinkering to set it up to your needs, but it works like a charm.

Stuart
May 2, 2020

Great app. I use it all the time for exploring new running routes. It’s great that it links so easily with other applications like Strava

Arthur van Ommen
April 29, 2020

I use the Garmin Vivoactive watch and expected some navigation app out of the box, which wasn't. This app was the add-on where I was looking for. I use this app to explore new routes, navigate the route using map or directions interface on the watch and receive alarms when to take the next exit. Sufficient functionality is provided in the free version, and upgrade to premium provides a lot of very useful additional functionality, worth the money. Also, support is very responsive and helpful.

Sean Jones
April 29, 2020

It's very good at what it does and worth upgrading to premium for running, but a bit disappointed in capabilities for cycling. Very slow to react once you've made a turn, and you can very quickly get "off route". If it were quicker out of a turn, or could direct you back to your route, then it would get a perfect rating for me.

Anton Vanhee
April 28, 2020

Great app. I'm using a Garmin Forerunner 235. This watch does not have navigation on it. With this app, the problem is solved. You can quite easily put on one (!) map at a time. You can create a route or just upload a gpx file. I encountered a small problem after connecting my watch to the website. First, my map did nog syncronise with the app. The app was running good, but the map wasn't showing. Luckily, after sending an e-mail with my question, I got an answer the same day! Problem solved and I went for a (trail)run the same evening. Great app: easy to switch between the course (you can also zoom in different times to get a more detailed view) and your data fields such as speed, heart rate, battery level,...

Jos Kieboom
April 27, 2020

I had some problems with de upgrade from dwMap tot dwMap Premium. After a quick response from Marcus the app got working after full satisfaction. The first kilometers already made with this app.

Ashley
April 27, 2020

GREAT APP, BRILLIANT SUPPORT - Highly recommended. I started using this app over the weekend. After taking some time to get used to it (not very long as it is very intuitive) I managed to create my first route. The next day I let the watch app navigate me through the route (16km)... and it was spot on. I am someone that often gets lost but this app kept me on route - no issues. Then I realised that I had run 2km shorter than my planned distance. Obviously disappointed, I contacted the developer via email. His response was quick, professional and efficient. It ended up being my error. Once corrected, the revised distance matched what I ran. What a pleasure to get good quality support.

Michael Nitzsche
April 27, 2020

I rarely write reviews, but this app absolutely deserves it. So here's my review. I use the app to walk all streets in my city, and let me route in detail with the navigation function. This is a PRO function, but I can only recommend it to everyone! There are so many great features, just the super route planner is so valuable and helps to save so much time! The sync of the clock with the routes is fast and reliable. You have to emphasize the support - I had some questions about the operation in the beginning - a ticket opened at Marcus, and within shortest time there were great answers ready. So if you feel the same way, talk to him - open a ticket. You will be helped guaranteed. (Many greetings from Southern Germany) Michael. You will not use any other app on the clock. (I use it on a Forrunner 945)

Tero
April 27, 2020

Setup is a bit involved but nothing out of the ordinary. Great quality software and support is excellent!

Simon Roberts
April 24, 2020

Had a problem with companion phone app crashing. Contacted support and got excellent, clear info on how to fix everything. All works brilliantly now. What a great app and customer support!

Chris Gollhardt
April 19, 2020

Kompliziert und die Internet Seite gibt Passwörter frei.

Developer Reply
April 20, 2020, mappicus

Chris, bitte kontaktieren Sie uns unter [email protected] und wir helfen Ihnen gerne bei der Behebung Ihres Problems. (Möglicherweise stellen wir hier einige Tage lang keine Frage zum technischen Support in einer Überprüfung, aber wir antworten sehr schnell auf E-Mails.) Unsere Website veröffentlicht, enthüllt oder teilt Passwörter in keiner Weise.

Passihe
April 18, 2020

Mit Abstand die beste App für meine Fenix 3. danke! Erst diese App macht meine Fenix vollständig

Mark Anderson
April 15, 2020

May not be easiest app to set up but it’s well worth it. Top app!

Amy McKinney
April 12, 2020

I don't like carrying my phone with me when I run, so when I found this app that allows me to put my route on my watch, I was thrilled. And when I discovered that I could get turn-by-turn directions, upgrading to Premium was a no-brainer. Any time I've had a question, the support team has gone above and beyond. I've recommended this app to all of my running friends.

Ulandt
April 10, 2020

Garmin VivoactiveHR does not come with mapping. This option was recommended. Not even sure if there are any others. I screwed up setup in a number of ways, but support was great, and now it's a piece o' cake. The free version gives you a breadcrumb track with an arrow icon for your position. You can zoom in as needed. Premium gives you a basemap, but I'm not going there with this watch because the screen is just too small. I may go Premium so I can change the number of data fields. With the free version there are four, and the text is too small for me.

DAVID NGUYEN
April 8, 2020

Works well on Vivoactive 4. I like the web interface to customize run route. Only gripe I have is during runs especially if you zoom in I wished arrow/map was centered on watch because some of the data can crop off the view until it moves.

Jonathan Riley
April 4, 2020

Installed on FR235, very easy to create and upload routes. Only basic version but great and ideal for using on a new running route.

Jan Willem Renders
April 3, 2020

I've got the premium version of this very useful app. It works well in combination with my Garmin S62. Alltought the background is sometimes a bit loading slow. And the navigation prompts and buzzers are not always as precise as you want. But overall, i'm realy enthusiastic about DwMap and there fast en friendly support.

Rob Dunnill
April 3, 2020

Bought the premium version. Works well on 235. Like the direction alerts and adaptability of the data fields. Easy to upload GPX files to website and to watch. I had a number of queries and tech support came back promptly and helped a lot.

Alexandru Suciu
April 1, 2020

I just want to say that the app works very good and its very usefull while the developer is really fast and helpfull if you contact him. He even answered me out of his working schedule. Thank you

Sorry, no statistics available yet.