App Icon

StuFly - Paramotoring App

Description

WARNING: The app is intended only as an in-flight aid and should not be used as a primary information source. If the app contains a barometric altimeter, it will not function in a pressurized aircraft and should not be used in a pressurized aircraft.</p><p></p><p>StuFly gives you all the real time info you need while flying your paramotor.</p><p></p><p>Once started it starts to show data. When it detects you have taken off it records this as your home position.</p>

What’s New

17/10/2020 New Features:</p><p></p><p>Menus changed to make more sense. Now say ON or OFF for each thing so you know which mode it's set to.</p><p></p><p>22/09/2020 New Features:</p><p></p><p>Altitude fixed - it will now display the same altitude as the altitude widget on your phone. This will use barometer and GPS is available, and if you have adjusted it, it will display this adjusted value.</p>

Additional Information

Permissions

This app requires access to:

  • FIT files (activity recordings)
  • GPS location
  • Sensor data (i.e., ANT+, heart rate, compass)
  • Approach® S60 Approach® S60
  • Approach® S62 Approach® S62
  • Captain Marvel Captain Marvel
  • D2™ Air D2™ Air
  • D2™ Bravo D2™ Bravo
  • D2™ Bravo Titanium D2™ Bravo Titanium
  • D2™ Charlie D2™ Charlie
  • D2™ Delta D2™ Delta
  • D2™ Delta PX D2™ Delta PX
  • D2™ Delta S D2™ Delta S
  • Darth Vader™ Darth Vader™
  • Descent™ Mk1 Descent™ Mk1
  • Descent™ MK2 Descent™ MK2, Descent™MK2i
  • Descent™ Mk2S Descent™ Mk2S
  • First Avenger First Avenger
  • ForeAthlete® 735XTJ ForeAthlete® 735XTJ
  • Forerunner® 230 Forerunner® 230
  • Forerunner® 235 Forerunner® 235
  • Forerunner® 245 Forerunner® 245
  • Forerunner® 245 Music Forerunner® 245 Music
  • Forerunner® 630 Forerunner® 630
  • Forerunner® 645 Forerunner® 645
  • Forerunner® 645 Music Forerunner® 645 Music
  • Forerunner® 735XT Forerunner® 735XT
  • Forerunner® 745 Forerunner® 745
  • Forerunner® 920XT Forerunner® 920XT
  • Forerunner® 935 Forerunner® 935
  • Forerunner® 945 Forerunner® 945
  • Forerunner® 945 LTE Forerunner® 945 LTE
  • fēnix® 3 fēnix® 3, quatix® 3, tactix® Bravo
  • fēnix® 3 HR fēnix® 3 HR
  • fēnix® 5 fēnix® 5, quatix® 5
  • fēnix® 5 Plus fēnix® 5 Plus
  • fēnix® 5S fēnix® 5S
  • fēnix® 5S Plus fēnix® 5S Plus
  • fēnix® 5X fēnix® 5X, tactix® Charlie
  • fēnix® 5X Plus fēnix® 5X Plus
  • fēnix® 6 fēnix® 6
  • fēnix® 6 Dual Power fēnix® 6 Dual Power
  • fēnix® 6 Pro fēnix® 6 Pro, fēnix® 6 Sapphire
  • fēnix® 6 Pro Dual Power fēnix® 6 Pro Dual Power
  • fēnix® 6 Pro Solar fēnix® 6 Pro Solar
  • fēnix® 6 Solar fēnix® 6 Solar
  • fēnix® 6S fēnix® 6S
  • fēnix® 6S Dual Power fēnix® 6S Dual Power
  • fēnix® 6S Pro fēnix® 6S Pro, fēnix® 6S Sapphire
  • fēnix® 6S Pro Dual Power fēnix® 6S Pro Dual Power
  • fēnix® 6S Pro Solar fēnix® 6S Pro Solar
  • fēnix® 6S Solar fēnix® 6S Solar
  • fēnix® 6X Pro fēnix® 6X Pro, fēnix® 6X Sapphire, fēnix® 6X Pro Solar, tactix® Delta Sapphire, quatix® 6X Solar, tactix® Delta Solar, tactix® Delta Solar Ballistics
  • fēnix® Chronos fēnix® Chronos
  • GPSMAP® 66i GPSMAP® 66i
  • GPSMAP® 66s / 66st GPSMAP® 66s / 66st
  • GPSMAP® 66sr GPSMAP® 66sr
  • GPSMAP® 86i GPSMAP® 86i
  • GPSMAP® 86s GPSMAP® 86s
  • GPSMAP® 86sc GPSMAP® 86sc
  • GPSMAP® 86sci GPSMAP® 86sci
  • MARQ™ Adventurer MARQ™ Adventurer
  • MARQ™ Athlete MARQ™ Athlete
  • MARQ™ Aviator MARQ™ Aviator
  • MARQ™ Captain MARQ™ Captain, MARQ™ Captain: American Magic Edition
  • MARQ™ Commander MARQ™ Commander
  • MARQ™ Driver MARQ™ Driver
  • MARQ™ Expedition MARQ™ Expedition
  • quatix® 6 quatix® 6
  • quatix® 6X quatix® 6X, quatix® 6X Solar, quatix® 6X Dual Power
  • Rey™ Rey™
  • Venu® Venu®
  • vívoactive® vívoactive®
  • vívoactive® 3 vívoactive® 3
  • vívoactive® 3 Mercedes-Benz® Collection vívoactive® 3 Mercedes-Benz® Collection
  • vívoactive® 3 Music vívoactive® 3 Music
  • vívoactive® 4 vívoactive® 4, GarminActive
  • vívoactive® 4S vívoactive® 4S, GarminActive S
  • vívoactive® HR vívoactive® HR
Average Rating: (30 Ratings)

Tilghman Smith
February 27, 2022 | Version v9

I've been using this app since starting PPG training in April 2021. It's basically my logbook since I've been using it with Garmin Connect. Great app! Works like a charm. Thanks!!

Mariusz Dawidczyk
November 23, 2021 | Version v9

So far I've uploaded my igc files to different xc portals using another GPS and software. Now I have Garmin Fenix 6 and Stufly and I can't get a file with valid G-record. Will it be possible one day?

Developer Reply
November 24, 2021, powerlord

All you need to do is go to garmin connect in a PC browser, and go to the saved activity. When you view it, you will find an option top right that allows you to save the GPS data as a GPX file, etc

Josh Perry
November 6, 2021 | Version v9

The app is great, price is on point! However, I have noticed it display "elevation" on the garmin connect website, and it is way off for some reason. For example, I took off from my site at 900ft MSL. It displays my "elevation" at 4000ft for some reason, and the entire flight was based on a zero of 4000ft. I wonder if this is due to the barometer and having the watch inside your sleeves. However, it says GPS is taken into account as well. So I don't know. The only options to make this app better would be to automatically start the activity when you hit X speed, and to automatically stop the activity when it detects movement is stopped. When I switched from the "Flying" app, I have to constantly trim my activities as Stufly does not auto start or stop.

Developer Reply
November 6, 2021, powerlord

Some others have reported altitude issues. Can I ask that you report them to me with as many details as you can? The app does not calculate altitude, it simply gets it from the watch, so if wrong in the app, it _should_ be just as wrong in the watch? Also it does autostart when it detects you have taken off. It does not and cannot detect you landing. For example, if you were flying into wind equal speed to your airspeed you would look to have 'stopped' as far as the app is concerned.

David Kumpula
October 9, 2021 | Version v9

I've been using StuFly as my primary PPG instrument for a year now. I love it! It is easy to use, accurate, and can run for long periods. It is comforting to always know where your LZ is at a glance. I put my Garmin on so that the face is on the underside of my wrist. This way I can read StuFly with my hands on the brakes, which is handy when conditions require active flying.

Kurt Moore
August 13, 2021 | Version v9

Just got this app . Seams easy . I’ll get back to you after I’ve used it a while . Cool app

Engammare
July 9, 2021 | Version v9

Amazing, thanks for the great job and for sharing, it really changes my confort in flight

Mike
June 24, 2021 | Version v9

Great job thank you for sharing...

Simon Murray
April 4, 2021 | Version v9

Bought a fenix 6 saphire just to use your app after watching your YouTube channel. Works perfectly well. Thanks for this and your awesome YouTube videos.

Charles Bynum
March 29, 2021 | Version v9

Downloaded for the Vivoactive 3. Thanks!

ChillyPPG
January 28, 2021 | Version v9

Finally got a Fenix 5x and installed Stufly. It’s just what a pilot needs for simplicity.

Greg Frederick
December 27, 2020 | Version v9

Works great. I have a Garmin Vivoactive3 watch. The only thing I can't get it to do is save the flight data. When I push the "Stop button" that works with other apps, StuFly stops but it doesn't give the option to "Save" or "Discard" like other apps do. Suggestions? Once that works, StuFly is a left 5 and I'll revise my reviews.

Paul
November 25, 2020 | Version v9

Great app gives all info needed while on your wrist saves getting phone out when flying.......

Jeff Suderman
November 17, 2020 | Version v9

love this app! I am new to the sport and wanted something simple and easy to use . This has helped me a ton, plus I'm not having to try and mess with an app on my phone while flying. it saves all my flight info and can still look over patern and other info later on phone.

Stephen Jensen
November 5, 2020 | Version v9

A well thought out app that has a display that is easy to read with the information I need. The only thing I wish it had was wind speed/direction like FlySkyHy. Overall, Stufly is a great App for PPG!

Greg Frederick
September 28, 2020 | Version V8

I just downloaded the newest version. So hopefully that update may have corrected this problem. I am using StuFly on my Vivoactive3 with a touch screen. For some reason every time I start StuFly before a PPG flight, the app has stopped running before I finish the flight. I don't know if the touch screen is getting touched during flight or what is going on. Hopefully the newest update will resolve this issue. If so, I will update my review and rating. Is anyone else having auto-shutdown problems on their Garmin device(s)?

mkh
September 22, 2020 | Version V8

Brilliant app for paramotoring All you need and nothing you dont need I use it on a Fenix 3 and love it

Damian McHale
September 8, 2020 | Version v7

Hi. Does the app use gps or barometric data? The preinstalled altimeter in the fenix 5 shows my correct altitude using the barometer however stufly often shows me 60/100 and sometimes 300ft difference....any advice please? Thanks for your work on this app.

Developer Reply
September 22, 2020, powerlord

Hi damian. Please update to v8. This is now fixed. Thanks for alerting me to it - it was due to garmin changing the sdk.

Craig
August 26, 2020 | Version v7

Since 2018 I've been using the Stufly app while flying my Paramotor. It's an AWESOME app and it's the sole reason I purchased the Garmin Fenix 5 watch. Bar None... Stufly is the best app for Paramotor pilots. Thank You Stu for creating such an AWESOME app.

Cris Claessens
July 14, 2020 | Version v7

Super app! Is it possible to add some sound/tactile when climbing? (For paragliding)

William Graham
May 26, 2020 | Version v6

Absolutely awesome!

George Cook
May 23, 2020 | Version v6

Amazing. Fantastic app thank you!

Joe Hall
May 11, 2020 | Version v6

I am an active flyer/instructor and have used this application on several Garmin devices - performs flawlessly and has all the relevant data points in a glance - a must for hand’s free in flight operation!

A.Taddeo
March 10, 2020 | Version v6

This is a GREAT little App, everything you need in one place for paramotoring. After watching the video on YouTube i bought a Garmin fenix and downloaded it and then the updated version, brilliant.

RENATO FROES
July 25, 2018 | Version V1.0

Congratulations on your work. To be complete, only speed of climb is lacking. Excellent app for PPG

LemoNidas
December 16, 2017 | Version V1.0

This is great. Exactly what paramotor pilot wants to have (four stars because I am missing Vertical speed information)