App Icon

Surf Tracker

Description

**NOTE: Garmin Connect output might not be working for the Fenix3/F3HR. It is a Garmin Connect issue that will hopefully be fixed soon.</p><p>____________________________________________</p><p>Track your surfing sessions in real time! This data field estimates the number of waves ridden using speed, time and distance thresholds to mark the start and end of a wave ride. Detailed info: https://forums.garmin.com/developer/connect-iq/f/showcase/521/data-field-surf-tracker</p>

What’s New

v1.90 add permission for location to hopefully fix crash/no data written issue

Additional Information

Permissions

This app requires access to:

  • Record additional information into activity files
  • GPS location
  • D2™ Bravo D2™ Bravo
  • D2™ Bravo Titanium D2™ Bravo Titanium
  • ForeAthlete® 230J ForeAthlete® 230J
  • ForeAthlete® 235J ForeAthlete® 235J
  • ForeAthlete® 630J ForeAthlete® 630J
  • ForeAthlete® 920XTJ ForeAthlete® 920XTJ
  • Forerunner® 230 Forerunner® 230
  • Forerunner® 235 Forerunner® 235
  • Forerunner® 630 Forerunner® 630
  • Forerunner® 920XT Forerunner® 920XT
  • fēnix® 3 fēnix® 3, quatix® 3, tactix® Bravo
  • fēnix® 3 HR fēnix® 3 HR
  • vívoactive® vívoactive®
Average Rating: (101 Ratings)

Alessio Cancellieri
26 December 2016 | Version 1.52

Can't visualize app in forerunner 735xt (sync done), in garmin express there's the app, but not in the device.

Developer Reply
26 December 2016, bwd1

:( why not ask this question in the forum before giving a bad review?? You realize this is a data field and not an app. Add it to an existing activity as a 1 field data field.

KennyC
17 December 2016 | Version 1.60

Love this app. Use it for SUP. So much data.

Freituk
17 December 2016 | Version 1.60

Fist time in water with this app and.. its magic. Love it. Well done m8 you are a genius

seanoz67
16 December 2016 | Version 1.60

Great addition to my 920XT.Took it to the Mentawais in August and the GPS zooms you right in to where you surfed at remote spots like Rifles and Hideaways.With a little bit of editing of the log in notes I have lasting memories of fantastic surf sessions recorded. Thanks bwd1

Håkan Vaide
15 December 2016 | Version 1.60

Love it! Keep it up. Experiencing some strange crashes while surfing. Datafield removes it self from app, only timer left. Need to readd datafield to make it work again. App created from standard paddleboard app...

Boissinot Charles
14 December 2016 | Version 1.50

Not compatible with vivoactive...

Developer Reply
14 December 2016, bwd1

Why not post this in the forum and we can try and see what's wrong. Giving a poor review gives me no motivation to work on it. Good job, I will remove the compatibility for the VA...

Matthias
05 December 2016 | Version 1.50

Did the download but it is not compatible with the vivoactive. Althobo there is written it is. To bad... otherwise if it is in the meanwhile my mistake. I certainly hope it wil become compatible

Renato Fantesini
20 November 2016 | Version 1.50

How can I see my track ? I surfed 16 waves but I can't see the single surf track on the map ...connected imported only some statistics not all of them ...

Neville Chandler
06 November 2016 | Version 1.40

Love it. Works well on my 920xt all the information needed. saved me buying a ripcurl gsp

Peter Holloway
16 October 2016 | Version 1.40

Very excited to see the configurable version as well as Connect IQ outputs. I used this datafield for downwind paddling in the early days, but the speed threshold was a bit too low... now I can change that :-)

Steve
13 July 2016 | Version 0.9-upd3

I have been using Trace and then thought about the Rip Curl watch, but when I discovered this app I bought the 735XT and I am really glad I did. This app is awesome. I records the waves pretty accurately. It does seem to miss some short waves but overall it works well. I would give it ten stars if the actual wave data(speed,length etc) could be downloaded into the Garmin Connect, instead of just numbers cut and pasted into the comments area. This app makes the 735 watch so much more functional for me. Now I can use it for everything I do. If you surf then get this app. It is a great way to record your sessions with very little effort and wearing the watch is better than a heavy Trace on the front of your board.

Tim Hogg
17 June 2016 | Version 0.9-upd3

Love this.. would love it even more if the thresholds could be customised.. I must paddle at warp speed because I often register 2-4 waves on my paddle out.. When the custom thresholds arrive along with the mapping showing waves and paddling I will def donate..

A
03 May 2016 | Version 0.9-upd1

Nice work as a datafield! Pleasantly surprised by the accuracy. A little bit fiddly with the output data and files. Would definitely donate if output was improved and this turned into an app with the option to integrate local swell and tide data and sunrise, sunset times.

Håkan Vaide
01 May 2016 | Version 0.9-upd1

Epic app/datafile. Only way it would be better, is if it would be an app and that action it would be saves as surf session with in connect iq as rip curl watch... Ok saving as text file, but would be absolutely fantastic to be able to retrace wave by wave! Thanks for great work! Makes my fenix 3 HR complete!

Jesgarpri
11 April 2016 | Version 0.9-upd

Very good, but I miss something essential... the tide schedule!! please, it would be perfect if tide information is added! thanks!!

atnek
13 March 2016 | Version 0.9-upd

Thank you for a great app. It is the best When you are ready to display the longest riding distance to the activity!

Hervé B
12 March 2016 | Version 0.9-upd

Bonjour, Excellent application en Sup Surfing pour ma part. Par contre comment intègre t'on les données dans garmin connect pour avoir les statistiques comme pour le trail par exemple ? j'ai essayé la procédure via le fichier . txt mais ne fonctionne pas merci

Vassilis
14 February 2016 | Version 0.9-upd

Great app... Very cool

zoominwitheden
24 January 2016 | Version 0.9

Can't get it setup on my Fenix3. Can someone post up step by step instructions please?

Dan Alexander
08 January 2016 | Version 0.9

Excellent app! Works great! So cool to see how many waves surfed, how long on the wave and bets of the session!!

Colby
07 January 2016 | Version 0.9

Thanks for the clarification on data field vs app. Was able to get it loaded. Looking forward to trying it out!

Twimby
01 January 2016 | Version 0.8

I just put mine on the Fenix 3 After you download, you need to go into Garmin Connect, to the manage apps and click send to device I set up an activity called Surf and set the data screen with one field. Click Field 1 and the first option was Connect IQ fields, click on that and the App is there "Big Wave Dave"

James Howe
27 December 2015 | Version 0.8

I'm having the same problem on my Fenix 3

Colby
27 December 2015 | Version 0.8

I'm having the same issue as mentioned below. Will not show up on my Fenix3. Please help!

Aquapunch
25 December 2015 | Version 0.8

I have been trying to download surfer tracker but no luck. Iam doing everything it says but it just wont show on my fenix 3.

Sorry, no statistics available yet.