App Icon

Running Power

Description

This app displays your current running power. If you are new to training with running power, try this one first.</p><p></p><p>For years, elite cyclists have used power data as the most reliable way to measure the actual exercise loads of their rides. Now runners can train with power, too. Developed by Garmin Labs, the Running Power apps let you tap into metrics collected by your compatible Garmin devices to calculate and show your running power in real time — as well as after your run.</p>

What’s New

Changes made from version 1.50 to 1.60:</p><p>- Updated compatible devices</p><p></p><p>Changes made from version 1.40 to 1.50:</p><p>- Support for the Forerunner 945 and the MARQ collection</p><p></p><p>Changes made from version 1.30 to 1.40:</p><p>- Fix bug where wind power was always disabled</p><p></p><p>Changes made from version 1.20 to 1.30:</p><p>- Support for the fenix5/5s/5x Plus series</p>

Additional Information

Permissions

This app requires access to:

  • Send/receive data via ANT radio to/from third-party sensors
  • Run in the background when it is not active (potentially affecting battery life)
  • Send/receive information to/from the Internet
  • Record additional information into activity files
  • GPS location
  • Heart rate, barometer, temperature, and altitude history
  • Your Garmin Connect™ fitness profile
  • D2™ Charlie D2™ Charlie
  • D2™ Delta D2™ Delta
  • D2™ Delta PX D2™ Delta PX
  • D2™ Delta S D2™ Delta S
  • Descent™ Mk1 Descent™ Mk1
  • Forerunner® 645 Forerunner® 645
  • Forerunner® 645 Music Forerunner® 645 Music
  • Forerunner® 935 Forerunner® 935
  • Forerunner® 945 Forerunner® 945
  • fēnix® 5 fēnix® 5, quatix® 5
  • fēnix® 5 Plus fēnix® 5 Plus
  • fēnix® 5S fēnix® 5S
  • fēnix® 5S Plus fēnix® 5S Plus
  • fēnix® 5X fēnix® 5X, tactix® Charlie
  • fēnix® 5X Plus fēnix® 5X Plus
  • fēnix® Chronos fēnix® Chronos
  • MARQ™ Athlete MARQ™ Athlete
  • MARQ™ Aviator MARQ™ Aviator
  • MARQ™ Captain MARQ™ Captain
  • MARQ™ Driver MARQ™ Driver
  • MARQ™ Expedition MARQ™ Expedition
Average Rating: (61 Ratings)

Sotiris Diamantopoulos
December 2, 2018 | Version 1.30

Please provide an option to smooth values. In its current implementation, running power is only useful as a post-exercise tool. Trying to use it in real time, as I run, power values are fluctuating too much to be of any use. Essentially, I am trying to smooth the values myself, averaging the last 3 seconds, which is the last thing a runner needs to do while running or racing. An option to smooth values with a variable smoothing window (e.g. 3-10s) would render this datafield much more useful.

Ralph
November 30, 2018 | Version 1.30

I really do like to have the running with Power option on Garmin. Unfortunately very little is published and google only finds over and over the same reviews .... I read a lot about running on power on: https://thesecretofrunning.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/01/31-Second-test-of-Garmin.pdf and their theory is very solid. They can exactly calculate the power numbers and confirm stryd values. Your numbers seem to follow a different approach and the watts are approx 30% higher. I would appreciate if you can add a config option to select which power model to follow. This would allow to follow training plans designed for the power ranges displayed by stryd. Thanks for a brief answer and considering for an update release ! Would be nice to have for the spring training season ;)

Krzysiek
November 21, 2018 | Version 1.30

Good app! Just one question - need some guidance on setting the zones. Can anbody help? ☺

RafaelMonge
November 5, 2018 | Version 1.30

Hello good day I write to you in relation to the "app running power" I would like to train with the power parameter while I run, but currently it is not possible to set up training with power. I give an example done with trainingpeaks: Workout Details Warm up 2.00 km @ 277-336 W Zone 1 - Recovery / Walking-Zone 2 - Endurance Active 3.00 km @ 415-454 W Zone 4 - Threshold-Zone 5 - High Intensity Recovery 1.50 km @ 296-336 W Zone 1 - Recovery / Walking-Zone 2 - Endurance Cool Down 1.00 km @ 198-237 W Zone 1 - Recovery / Walking Is there any way for fenix 5 to warn me that I am within the correct range of power at each step?

Mars
October 27, 2018 | Version 1.30

I have a Fenix 5 plus and it works well. From my runs with both the RD Pod and Stryd the readings give different numbers, but the overall curves follow similar patterns. I don't understand why the RD Pod can't give pacing information like Stryd. My suggestion would be for this app to work with any power sensor. I'd use the power gauge data field instead of Stryd's Race Power which I really don't like.

Stephen Hagan
October 9, 2018 | Version 1.30

Doesn't appear to be working with my Fenix 5x.

Mika Särkelä
October 7, 2018 | Version 1.30

This could be useful with the wind compensation, but I have tried all the tricks and it remains disabled. I am based in Finland and I can't find the geographical coverage of wind stations anywhere, is that information provided somewhere?

Marc
October 1, 2018 | Version 1.30

Don't do it! Training peaks will give crazy TSS scores instead of rTSS!

doh
September 21, 2018 | Version 1.30

Cada vez me sorprendo más con las posibilidades que ofrecen. Ésta es una de ellas. Con el hrm run y un fr 645 music, excelente.

yannlux
August 18, 2018 | Version 1.30

Works perfectly. Don't believe people comparing to stryd, ratio with cycling is not making any sense (run must be more difficult as not carried by the bike) Multiple comments with plus are not making sense, is he only wearing a chest strap.

George Whitehouse
August 9, 2018 | Version 1.30

Yep not working on 5x plus. Disappointing.

Toffee
August 6, 2018 | Version 1.30

Totally not working with plus series, despite the compatibility listing. I will update it again once it works.

Toffee
August 6, 2018 | Version 1.30

Totally not working with plus series, despite the compatibility listing. I will update it again once it works.

Toffee
August 6, 2018 | Version 1.30

Totally not working with plus series, despite the compatibility listing. I will update it again once it works.

Anders
July 23, 2018 | Version 1.30

Rd pod shows higher than hrm-strap and even more against stryd. Rd pod gives"better" results in everything it calculate.

Nick______H
July 2, 2018 | Version 1.30

When using hrm run this gives readings 20-30% higher than stryd. I believe the stryd values given they align to my cycling power. Give it a try but don’t trust the data with this version. Would be interesting to know how it works with the garmin rd foot pod (stryd is great but not waterproof)

Filip Schmid
June 27, 2018 | Version 1.20

I really like the Datafield and I think it is useful. Howewer, why is it not compatible with my new Fenix 5 Plus?! Will there be an update soon? Otherwise I might replace the 5 Plus to it's predecessor.

Peter Balling Stockmann
June 26, 2018 | Version 1.20

Very disappointing that the app is not updated to be used on the Fenix 5x Plus model

Luke
June 26, 2018 | Version 1.20

It is great with the Fenix 5, but it does not work with any of the plus models, Fenix 5/5s/5x plus not compatible. So it does not work with Garmin's newest devices, even though it is advertised as compatible on their website. I will revisit and re-review when it does work.

Pauline Baggarly
June 21, 2018 | Version 1.20

A little disappointed. The elevation seems to be wonky? Not sure if watch (FR 645 non music) or if I pause watch a lot on this run (its super humid, so hill repeats are torture). But the elevation on my run doesn’t show accurate elevation in or around the amount it should show. Trying again Saturday for a 12miler and we will see.

Patrik P
June 2, 2018 | Version 1.20

The power feature is great but almost in every run I have these blank ( zero ) segments for a minute or two and then it continues to show power again

Matt.R
May 24, 2018 | Version 1.20

Why does this work on my Fenix5 and not 735. They have the same processor, both support connect IQ 2. What does the 735 lack?

Sam Aachen H.S. Chui
April 8, 2018 | Version 1.20

Is it work?? if I use HRM Tri, and How it work when I am using HRM Tri?

Rodger Tellis
April 5, 2018 | Version 1.20

Does what it claims to do. Drawbacks are a lack of smoothing algorithms and laps not being set when moving from one step to another when using a Connect created workout which causes problems when trying to do an FTP test type run to workout what your Power Zones should be.

Brian Reiter
February 7, 2018 | Version 1.10

Records interpolated power according to Garmin’s algorithm, like it is supposed to. It works 100% reliably with my fēnix 5 and RD pod combination. My #1 feedback would be to request (more?) smoothing in the algorithm so that the numbers are slightly less sensitive to bouncing around and also so that the recorded graph is less noisy.

Sorry, no statistics available yet.