App Icon

Surf Tracker2

Beschreibung

Surf Tracker: Track your surfing sessions in real time! This data field estimates the number of waves ridden using speed, time and distance thresholds to mark the start and end of a wave ride. Detailed info: https://forums.garmin.com/developer/connect-iq/f/showcase/521/data-field-surf-tracker</p><p></p><p>**This is a data field not an App...this means that you add the data field (ConnectIQ - Surf Tracker) into an existing Activity (SUP, Paddle, etc) and set it to 1-field layout (ie. 1 page). </p>

Neues

v3.01 updated with SDK3.1.7 and added new device Venu </p><p></p><p>v3.00 support for lots of new devices</p><p></p><p>v2.95 support for new devices</p><p></p><p>v2.90</p><p>- add Beach Facing Detection measurement as a option before hitting START (calibrate compass, then point watch 12 hand at waves, perpendicular to beach, then go to data field page and get a stable/reliable heading, then hit START)</p>

Weitere Informationen

Berechtigungen

Diese App muss auf Folgendes zugreifen:

  • Aufzeichnung zusätzlicher Informationen in Aktivitätsdateien
  • GPS-Position
  • Approach® S60 Approach® S60
  • Captain Marvel Captain Marvel
  • D2™ Charlie D2™ Charlie
  • D2™ Delta D2™ Delta
  • D2™ Delta PX D2™ Delta PX
  • D2™ Delta S D2™ Delta S
  • Descent™ Mk1 Descent™ Mk1
  • First Avenger First Avenger
  • ForeAthlete® 735XTJ ForeAthlete® 735XTJ
  • Forerunner® 245 Forerunner® 245
  • Forerunner® 245 Music Forerunner® 245 Music
  • Forerunner® 645 Forerunner® 645
  • Forerunner® 645 Music Forerunner® 645 Music
  • Forerunner® 735XT Forerunner® 735XT
  • Forerunner® 935 Forerunner® 935
  • Forerunner® 945 Forerunner® 945
  • fēnix® 5 fēnix® 5, quatix® 5
  • fēnix® 5 Plus fēnix® 5 Plus
  • fēnix® 5S fēnix® 5S
  • fēnix® 5S Plus fēnix® 5S Plus
  • fēnix® 5X fēnix® 5X, tactix® Charlie
  • fēnix® 5X Plus fēnix® 5X Plus
  • fēnix® 6 fēnix® 6
  • fēnix® 6 Pro fēnix® 6 Pro, fēnix® 6 Sapphire
  • fēnix® 6S fēnix® 6S
  • fēnix® 6S Pro fēnix® 6S Pro, fēnix® 6S Sapphire
  • fēnix® 6X Pro fēnix® 6X Pro, fēnix® 6X Sapphire, fēnix® 6X Pro Solar, tactix® Delta Sapphire, quatix® 6X Solar, tactix® Delta Solar, tactix® Delta Solar Ballisitcs
  • fēnix® Chronos fēnix® Chronos
  • MARQ™ Adventurer MARQ™ Adventurer
  • MARQ™ Athlete MARQ™ Athlete
  • MARQ™ Aviator MARQ™ Aviator
  • MARQ™ Captain MARQ™ Captain, MARQ™ Captain: American Magic Edition
  • MARQ™ Commander MARQ™ Commander
  • MARQ™ Driver MARQ™ Driver
  • MARQ™ Expedition MARQ™ Expedition
  • MARQ™ Golfer MARQ™ Golfer
  • Mercedes-Benz Venu® Mercedes-Benz Venu®
  • quatix® 6 quatix® 6
  • quatix® 6X quatix® 6X, quatix® 6X Solar, quatix® 6X Dual Power
  • Venu Venu
  • vívoactive® 3 vívoactive® 3
  • vívoactive® 3 Mercedes-Benz® Collection vívoactive® 3 Mercedes-Benz® Collection
  • vívoactive® 3 Music vívoactive® 3 Music
  • vívoactive® 4 vívoactive® 4, GarminActive
  • vívoactive® 4S vívoactive® 4S, GarminActive S
  • vívoactive® HR vívoactive® HR
Durchschnittliche Bewertung: (87 Bewertungen)

Xavi Ribo
21. September 2018 | Version 2.90

Had, the sync problems on my Fenix 3, got Fenix 5, and it works Perfect. Great App, a really useful tool for surfing and stand up paddling. If it would be possible to enter a decimal in the data fields would great. If not, it is great.

Sean Jahnig
14. September 2018 | Version 2.90

I have had my eye on this app for a while and today i finally purchased a Garmin watch.. very excited!!! I can't seem to find much info on how to use this data field - can anyone offer any advice? How do i set the BeachDir before i push start? I can't work out where to change the direction setting on the watch itself... i can only change the direction using the mobile phone app. Thanks!

Antwort des Entwicklers
14. September 2018, bwd1

If you have "Measure BeachDir at Start of Activity" selected in the settings (in Garmin Connect/Express), then stand on the beach and point the 12 hand of the watch perpendicular to the waves, then go to the activity with the data field and you will see it averaging the direction. Once it measures and stabilizes (15 sec or so), then press Start and go surf. Otherwise uncheck the "Measure BeachDir" and use a fixed value. If you still have questions use the Contact Dev link.

Steve Guluk
3. September 2018 | Version 2.90

Great App! used it on my Fenix 3 and now with my Fenix 5. It would be nice if we could somehow see the water temp on the main screen (any screen?). Maybe below the Wave Count? Water Temp is one of the main reasons I use my Garmin over my Rip Curl Search (that also tracks waves, quite elegantly I must say). Water temp is such a conversation point when in the line up. For instance today it was 76 degrees while 2 days ago it was 66. Regardless, great app and makes your watch that much more valuable if you surf.

Julian
23. August 2018 | Version 2.90

Awesome, thank you :)

Kazuhiro Shirai
9. August 2018 | Version 2.90

I am using Fenix 5S plus. I downloaded this application but I do not know how to activate this on the watch. This is not an actual application but downloaded as data field. Do you know how to activate this ?

Bowman
30. Juli 2018 | Version 2.90

why cant I get it to work on Fenix 5X?

Antwort des Entwicklers
31. Juli 2018, bwd1

Perhaps because you didn’t read the instructions? If you need help then use the contact developer link. It’s a data field not an app so you need to add it to an existing activity like SUP, paddling etc

Michael OKeefe
17. Juli 2018 | Version 2.90

This data field does not display correctly on a Fenix 5! Why is that, as the image on the page is a Fenix 5 The display is vertical not horizontal

Antwort des Entwicklers
18. Juli 2018, bwd1

I don't understand your comment...if you have a problem please send a message using the contact developer link. I can respond thru email and then you can send a screenshot.

Chris Crawford
15. Juli 2018 | Version 2.90

Outstanding app!! My favorite data point is seeing how often I ride waves longer than 200 yards (generally once every four or five sessions). Thank you so much for developing this!!

Nati
26. Mai 2018 | Version 2.80-upd1

Great good job man just didn’t get how to use it I’m now to garmin a short video of how to use it will be great! Thanks a lot !

Jorge
8. Mai 2018 | Version 2.80-upd1

Great App!!!

Kyveli Ampela
6. März 2018 | Version 2.80

Very good app! Well done until the next update :-) And a question: How can I change the time threshold of the wave ride from 6sec to 3 oe 4 sec as we really have some small waves down here to ride :-) and I would like to see at least how many wave I was able to catch! Thanks!

Antwort des Entwicklers
6. März 2018, bwd1

Change the settings in Garmin Connect Mobile (on your phone) or using Garmin Express: https://forums.garmin.com/forum/developers/connect-iq/connect-iq-showcase/115055-how-to-app-settings You may have to increase the Min Max Speed (to 13 or more) so you don't get waves counted that you paddle for and miss.

Luke Noonan
14. Februar 2018 | Version 2.80

A Few weeks back I questioned the surfers direction - your response was I should of done beach facing direction and a week or to later you changed it. Outstanding work you put in..... Follow up from Bens Comments. HOW CAN WE DONATE?:) The App that you have made is worth much more then factious stars

Ben Grozier
7. Februar 2018 | Version 2.60-upd

This data field has to be close to top of the pile for Garmin to acquire and to bring the dev bwd a little windfall for his / her work. With the latest updates, it's a legit challenger to the Rip Curl GPS watch. I agree, changing to 'Beach Facing Direction' would be a bit clearer and I tweaked my settings to be 10, 6, 15, 10 and 35. I surf Sydney beach breaks most often on a performance long-board and sometimes short-board. With the above settings and making sure I stand / stay pretty still in the water for 5-10 seconds after each wave the log is extremely accurate. If there was a way to count a wave as a 'lap' that would be cool. Obviously the way way Rip Curl maps the wave as opposed to the paddle back out is a bridge to far (understandably). Again, great work, great app. Very spoilt to get it for free. Can we donate anywhere bwd to say thanks?

Marc
2. Februar 2018 | Version 2.60-upd

I have followed the instructions to save the data into a text file. Once the correct .PRG file was found i put in into the GARMIN/APPS/LOGS folder and once i opened the text file it was unreadable symbols and words that i couldn't make any sense of. If anybody could please help me find out how to collect and review my data by referring a link or anything it would be greatly appreciated i'm having a great deal of trouble. Thank you.

Antwort des Entwicklers
9. Februar 2018, bwd1

Use the Contact Developer link and send me a message and hopefully i can help. Just to be clear, don't move or copy the .PRG file, just use it to get the filename and create a file in the GARMIN/APPS/LOGS folder. For example, if you find that SurfTracker is called /GARMIN/APPS/69SI5820.PRG, then create an empty file with this name /GARMIN/APPS/LOGS/69SI5820.TXT

Jorge
31. Januar 2018 | Version 2.60

Could be possible to have a lap for each wave, so then we can compare the waves of the session, Cool !!!

Luke Noonan
21. Januar 2018 | Version 2.60

Now its added lefts and rights. keeps getting better. Are you able to help me in explain what the surfers right direction (deg) should be set to. If it helps the beaches are facing east where I mainly head to.

Antwort des Entwicklers
22. Januar 2018, bwd1

Thanks for the comments. I guess I didn't really give instructions on how to set the "Surfers Right Direction". If your beaches are facing E, then you would set the direction to North. Maybe I should change it to "Beach Facing Direction", to make it easier to understand (in your case E), and then rotate it...?

pecoraneradelconero
28. Dezember 2017 | Version 2.40-upd

perfect app, goog job, it detects all the waves I bought the garmin to use this app. thanks pecoraneradelconero

Nuno
21. Dezember 2017 | Version 2.40-upd

Hi guys Best settings for Fenix 5? I change some settings but F5 give me more waves and differents speeds. Ex: 12/34 waves max speed 326 km/h (impossible lolololol) I change my VivoActive to F5 and the GPS are less noise in Vivo active.. Please helppp meee about the settings.. merry Christmas ho ho ho!!!

Antwort des Entwicklers
24. Dezember 2017, bwd1

Not sure, on my 935 I use 12/6/15/0 and it works. Can you send me a message using the developer link and send me a link to a sample activity.

Luke Noonan
5. Dezember 2017 | Version 2.40-upd

App has never failed. Have a Fenix 5x. I do screenshots after a session on the watch. I noticed that garmin connect incorporated an IQ. Which showed min /max speed. Min/max distance and total wave travelled someother cool things. But now its disappeared. My point is looks like garmin is trying to work with your APP. This APP is (for me) so stable. You have done such a great job.

JAYNE RYELAND
3. Dezember 2017 | Version 2.40-upd

Really good for those tracking their SUP paddling and wave riding efforts in particular long wave runner areas in river inlets etc some great insights

Garth Calver
1. Dezember 2017 | Version 2.40-upd

Thanks so much for creating this app...it's the main reason I bought the vivoactive 3! When you get the time, it would be great if you could amend the layout for the VA3. The watch currently shows the time of day and activity time in the top and bottom fields which means you don't need to display those in the middle. It looks like you only display the last/longest/total ride. That is, only one of those and not of them as you do on the other watches. I would seriously be happy to pay for this fix... Like I said this app is why I bought the watch, thanks again.

Antwort des Entwicklers
2. Dezember 2017, bwd1

Thanks for the review. Can you send me a message using the Contact Developer link. I need some more info since I don't have a VA3. I'll reply and then maybe you can email me a photo or screenshot. Are using the middle row in a 3 row setup? You can also use a 1 field layout to show all the info.

Howie Nordström
26. November 2017 | Version 2.40-upd

Fun! Would like more explanation regarding why there's a max speed threshold.

daveroz
16. November 2017 | Version 2.40

Awesome app - thanks for adding vivoactive 3 support! However, I just updated to the latest app version and I can no longer see the settings to configure the app when I go to Garmin Connect - Devices - Activities and App Management - Data Fields - Surf Tracker 2 Have the settings moved elsewhere? I haven't been able to find them

Scotty J
12. November 2017 | Version 2.3.0

Awesome.....thanks...works great on the fenix 5x. No longer have to guess how many/how far/how fast ever again.

Lee Belbin
11. November 2017 | Version 2.3.0

Thanks heaps for the Vivoactive 3 support! Fabulous. The only hassle is Garmin’s new approach to field layouts - you have to select a FIXED number of fields for an application regardless of the number of data screens used, not as in other watches such as the VA HR. This means that to see Surf Tracker fields in full, you have to use ONE FIELD for all data screens. I use 3 for all (timer, distance and time of day), and if I use that for the SUP app, you only see the time on wave value if it is the first field. But, you will still get all the details on Garmin Connect. II will contact Garmin about this, but wonder what hope we have of being able to select the NUMBER of data fields on each data screen.

Antwort des Entwicklers
13. November 2017, bwd1

Thanks for the review. I didn't know about the Vivo3 limitations. The new version allows you to pick SurfTracker as the middle field for the Vivo3 (using 3 fields) and still see some of the info.

Leider sind noch keine Statistiken verfügbar.